St. Mary's County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from St. Mary's County, Maryland)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
St. Mary's County

Guide to St. Mary's County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Leonardtown
Organized: January 24, 1637
Parent County(s): Colonial lands[1]
Variant Spellings: Saint Mary's[2]
Neighboring Counties
Calvert  • Charles  • Dorchester  • Somerset  • Northumberland (VA)  • Westmoreland (VA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
St Mary's County Courthouse Leonardtown, Maryland.jpeg
Location Map
MD St Mary's map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

Michaelangelos Pieta.jpg

St. Mary's County was named for Mary, the mother of Jesus. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

St. Mary's County Courthouse
23115 Leonard Hall Dr.
Leonardtown, MD 20650
St. Mary's County Website

Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage and land records.
Register of Wills has probate records.[4]

St. Mary's County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1794 1898 1781 1658 1790

Record Loss

St. Mary's has suffered substantial record loss.

  • Missing census: 1830
  • Lost census: 1890
  • 1831--The courthouse was destroyed by fire. Some deeds were re-recorded back to 1781, and abstracts of deeds sent to Annapolis beginning in 1784 also make up for some of the records that were destroyed.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • Created January 24, 1637 from Colonial lands.
  • County seat: Leonardtown[5]

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in St. Mary's County, Maryland:

Town

Communities

Census Districts

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of St. Mary's County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

 

  • All Faith Cemetery
  • All Saints Cemetery
  • Charles Memorial Gardens
  • Christ Church Cemetery
  • Ebenezer Cemetery
  • Evergreen Memorial Gardens
  • Galilee Cemetery
  • Holy Face Cemetery
  • John Wesley Cemetery
  • Joy Chapel Cemetery
  • Mount Zion Cemetery [6]
  • New Saint Aloysius Cemetery
  • Old Saint Aloysius Cemetery
  • Old Saint Josephs Cemetery
  • Our Lady's Chapel Cemetery[7]
  • Point Lookout Confederate Cemetery
  • Queen of Peace Cemetery
  • Saint Andrews Cemetery
  • Saint Francis Xavier Cemetery
  • Saint Georges Cemetery
  • Saint Georges Cemetery [8]
  • Saint Johns Cemetery
  • Saint Josephs Cemetery
  • Saint Michael Cemetery
  • Saint Nicholas Cemetery
  • Saint Paul's Cemetery

Census Records

For tips on accessing St. Mary's County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 15,544
1800 13,699 −11.9%
1810 12,794 −6.6%
1820 12,974 1.4%
1830 13,459 3.7%
1840 13,224 −1.7%
1850 13,698 3.6%
1860 15,213 11.1%
1870 14,944 −1.8%
1880 16,934 13.3%
1890 15,819 −6.6%
1900 17,182 8.6%
1910 17,030 −0.9%
1920 16,112 −5.4%
1930 15,189 −5.7%
1940 14,626 −3.7%
1950 29,111 99.0%
1960 38,915 33.7%
1970 48,388 24.3%
1980 59,895 23.8%
1990 75,974 26.8%
2000 86,211 13.5%
2010 105,151 22.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Census reports available 1790-1930, including slave and veterans schedules.
1830 census is missing.

Church Records

  • 1668-1995 Maryland, Church Records, 1668-1995 at FamilySearch — index
  • Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

Protestant Episcopal

  • 1833-1859 Poole, Martha Sprigg. "St. Andrew's Parish Register of Baptisms, Marriages and Deaths 1833-1859," Chronicles of St. Mary's, vol. 5, no. 2: Feb. 1957 (Abell to Craigg); vol. 5, no. 6: Jun. 1957 (Craig to Greenwell); vol. 5, no. 9: Sep. 1957 (Greenwell to Hutchins); vol. 6, no. 1: Jan. 1958 (Hutchins to Mareman); vol. 6, no. 5: May 1958 (Mareman to Payne); vol. 6, no. 10: Jun. 1958 (Payne to Stone); vol. 7, no. 1: Jan. 1959 (Tabbs to Watts); vol. 7, no. 3 Mar. 1959 (Watts to Wise); vol. 7, no. 4: Mar. 1959 (Wise to Wooton).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

The New Early Settlers of Maryland database is a great place to start searching for immigrants who had arrived in the colony by the 1680s. The database "comprises entries from Gust Skordas' Early Settlers of Maryland and Carson Gibb's Supplement to the Early Settlers of Maryland." Available online, courtesy: Maryland State Archives.

Other St. Mary's County immigration resources include:

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

For ancestors who lived in St. Mary's County in the 1600s, a Harvard graduate has probably studied your family. See Dr. Lois Green Carr's Biographical Files of 17th and 18th Century Marylanders (courtesy: Maryland State Archives).

  • [Abell] Abell, William Russell. The Abell Family of St. Mary's County, Maryland and the American Revolution. Des Moines, Iowa: privately published, 1984. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Abington] Berkley, Henry J. "The Abingtons of St. Mary's and Calvert Counties," Maryland Historical Magazine, Vol. 25 (1930):251-255. FHL Book 975.2 H25m v. 25 (1930).
  • [Addison] Kennedy, Mary Selden. Seldens of Virginia and Allied Families. New York: Frank Allaben Genealogical Co., c1911. Digital versions of Vol. 1 at Google Books; Internet Archive | Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Books Online;Internet Archive; FHL Book 929.273 Se48k.
  • [Butler] See de Hinojosa.
  • [Carvile] See de Hinojosa.
  • [Chilton] Dorman, John Frederick. "The Chilton Families of Virginia and Maryland," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1967):71-78; Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1967):121-125; Vol. 11, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1967):167-174; Vol. 12, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1968):15-18; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1968):83-86; Vol. 12, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1968):109-113; Vol. 12, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1968):169-175; Vol. 13, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1969):32-36; Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1969):65-71; Vol. 13, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1969):177-180; Vol. 14, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1970):15-22; Vol. 14, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1970):75-82; Vol. 14, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1970):123-128; Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):165-168; Vol. 15, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1971):32-41; Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):122-124; Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):259-264; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1972):301-30. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 11-v. 16.
  • [DeButts] Russell, George Ely. "DeButts Family of Maryland and Virginia," The Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1998):131-188.
  • [Decosta] Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60.
  • [D'Hiniossa] Hoffman, William J. "Alexander D'Hiniossa, The Last Dutch Director on the Delaware," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 73, No. 4 (Oct. 1942):246-250. FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 73.
  • [de Hinojosa] Hoff, Henry B. "Alexander de Hinojosa and His Descendants in Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 79, No. 4 (Oct. 2004):260-273.
  • [Ellyson] Wagner, Douglas W. Ellyson. "The Early Generations of the Ellyson Family," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 72, No. 1. Reprint: FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 6718.
  • [Forrest] Kennedy, Mary Selden. Seldens of Virginia and Allied Families. New York: Frank Allaben Genealogical Co., c1911. Digital versions of Vol. 1 at Google Books; Internet Archive | Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Books Online;Internet Archive; FHL Book 929.273 Se48k.
  • [Gerard] Weis, Frederick Lewis and Walter Lee Sheppard. Ancestral Roots of Certain American Colonists Who Came to America before 1700. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1992. FHL Book 974 D2w 1992.
  • [Gray] Russell, George Ely. "Francis Gray of Maryland and Virginia," The Genealogist, Vol. 25, No. 2 (Fall 2011):131-143. FHL Book 929.105 G286n v. 25, no. 2 (fall 2011).
  • [Guyther] See de Hinojosa.
  • [Leigh] Hoff, Henry B. "Alexander de Hinojosa and His Descendants in Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 79, No. 4 (Oct. 2004):260-273.
  • [McFarlane] Finley, Carmen J. "The McFarlings: From Virginia to the California Gold Rush," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2000):3-12; Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2000):131-145; Vol. 44, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 2000):186-195; Vol. 44, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2000):275-292. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • [Norris] Diller, Corinne Hanna. "Johns and Thomases: Using Named Farmland to Sort Identities among Norrises of St. Mary's County, Maryland," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 86, No. 4 (December 1998):271-282. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 86 (1998).
  • [Plater] Lomax, E.L. Genealogy of the Virginia Family of Lomax. Chicago: Rand McNally and Co., 1913. Digital version at Internet Archive.
  • [Vanswearingen] Daniels, Frances C.T. Some Descendants of Garrett Vanswearingen of St. Mary's, Maryland. Georgetown, Del.: A.B. and R.P. Thompson, 1983. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Walker] Holtzclaw, B.C. "Asbury of Westmoreland County, Virginia," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul. 1967):55-65; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1967):77-87; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1968):10-26. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of St. Mary's County Deed Books (1781-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Mdst.mary's.jpg

St. Mary's County Tract Map: 1705 by Dr. Russell Menard identifies early settlers and land locations.

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, St. Mary's County on page 127.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, St. Mary's County, pp. 154-155. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in St. Mary's served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in St. Mary's:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Chronicles of St. Mary's is published by the St. Mary's County Historical Society. A subject and author index is available on their website.

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

  • 1678, 1681 1678 and 1681 St. Mary's County tax lists, available online, courtesy: MDGenWeb.

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

  • 1640-1820 - St. Mary's County, Maryland, Marriages: 1638-1820 at St. Mary's Families. "The marriage database contains 10,096 marriages, most of which occurred in St. Mary's County, Maryland between 1637 and 1820. Source records include County Court Records (marriage licenses), wills, deeds, extant church records (St. Andrew's Episcopal Church, St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church, and St. Inigoes Catholic Church, including marriage and baptisms) and Prerogative Court Records (compiled by V.L. Skinner, Jr.)."
  • 1658-1940 Maryland County Marriages, 1658-1940 at FamilySearch — index
  • 1666-1970 Maryland Marriages, 1666-1970 at FamilySearch — index
  • 1794-1864 Brumbaugh, Gaius Marcus. Maryland Records: Colonial, Revolutionary, County and Church from Original Sources. Vol. 1. Baltimore, Md.: Williams & Wilkins Company, 1915. Digital version at Google Books. "Marriage Licenses of St. Mary's County, 1794-1864 (7533 Persons)," is available online, see pages 313-405 and index.
  • Maryland Marriage References by Robert Barnes.
  • Marriage Records, Maryland State Archives

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • St. Mary’s County Library Branches:
    37600 New Market Rd
    Charlotte Hall, MD
    Phone: 301-884-2211

    23250 Hollywood Rd
    Leonardtown, MD
    Phone: 301-475-2846

    21677 FDR Blvd.
    Lexington Park, MD
    Phone: 301-863-8188
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • St. Mary’s County Genealogical Society, Inc.
    SMCGS
    P.O. Box 1109
    Leonardtown, MD 20650
    Email: smcgs@mindspring.com
    Website
  • St. Mary’s County Historical Society
    SMCHS
    Tudor Hall
    41680 Tudor Place
    Leonardtown, MD
    Phone: 301-475-2467
    Email: membership@stmaryshistory.org
    Website
  • The Society of the Ark and the Dove was founded in 1910. It was formed to fellowship those that trace their descent from Lord Baltimore and those that arrived on the Ark and the Dove in 1634 to settle Maryland. This society is multifaceted, encouraging research of early Maryland history and promoting and supporting Museums, Historical Foundations and Societies.

Websites

Research Guides

  • Reno, Linda. “Research in St. Mary’s County.” Maryland Genealogical Society Journal 50, no. 1 (2009): 119-125.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. William Hand Browne, ed., Archives of Maryland: Proceedings and Acts of the General Assembly of Maryland October 1678-November 1683 (Baltimore: Maryland Historical Society, 1889).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "St. Mary's, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Mary%27s_County,_Maryland."
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Family History Library Film Number 599840 item 4 page 105
  7. Family History Library Film Number 599841 item 3 page 125
  8. Family History Library Film Number 599840 item 4 page 112