St. Louis County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
St. Louis County

Guide to St. Louis County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


St. Louis County, Missouri
Map
Map of Missouri highlighting St. Louis County
Location in the state of Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 1, 1812
County Seat Clayton
Courthouse
MissouriStLouisCourthouse.jpg
Address St. Louis County Courthouse
41 S Central Avenue
Clayton, MO 63105
Phone: 314.889.2041
St. Louis County Website


County Information

St. Louis County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1876 1876 1883 1880 1876 1876

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth records 1877-1910; Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records; Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.[2]

History

St. Louis County predates the state of Missouri which was admitted to the union in 1821. St. Louis was one of the five original districts of the Louisiana Territory from 1805-1812 and one of the five original counties of the Missouri Territory from 1812 to 1821.

On August 22, 1876 the City of St. Louis voted to separate from St. Louis County and became an independent city.

Parent County

St. Louis County was created 1 October 1812 as an original county.

  • County seat: City of St. Louis (1805-Mar 1877)
  • County seat: Clayton[3] (abt. 1878-present)
The separation was not official until a court case decided the issue in March of 1877. St. Louis County started separate record-keeping from St. Louis City in 1877. It was not until December 1878, however, that the county established a new courthouse in the new county seat of Clayton, Missouri.
County records from 1805 - 1876 are maintained by the City of St. Louis and records from 1877 are maintained by the county. Records from 1877 and 1878 are a gray area and may be in the city records. Many of these records are available at both the St. Louis Public Library (City) and the St. Louis County Library.

For further explanation see 1876 St. Louis City/County split and its affect on research

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

St. Louis CountyLincoln CountyWarren CountyMontgomery CountySt. Charles CountyGasconade CountyCrawford CountyWashington CountyJefferson CountySte. Genevieve CountyMadison CountySt. Clair CountyRandolph CountyMonroe CountyMacoupin CountyCalhoun CountyJersey CountyFranklin CountyMOSt. Louis1.JPG

Resources

Archives and Libraries

  • St. Louis Public Library (St. Louis City) owns a large collection of books, periodicals, maps, and other miscellaneous materials that deal with the history of St. Louis City, and Library staff have indexed many previously unindexed books and materials on that topic. They also own a large local history card file, and a large vertical file consisting of articles clipped from local newspapers and other local publications.
    St. Louis Public Library Local History Indexes and Bibliographies
  • St. Louis County Library has a large collection of genealogical records for St. Louis City and St. Louis County in its Special Collections Department located at its main headquarters. The collection includes holdings from the St. Louis Genealogical Society as well as parish records from the Archdiocese of St. Louis. In addition to its holdings, the staff of the Special Collections Department has created indexes for many records including St. Louis newspapers as well as birth, naturalization, probate, and church records.

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MOInterment
MOGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing St. Louis County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
Lutheran
Evangelical and United Church of Christ
Presbyterian

Fairmount Presbyterian Church, St. Louis

  • 1871 - 1875 Fairmount Presbyterian Church, St. Louis, Baptism Index 1871-1875. Batch C515742 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1871 - 1879 Fairmount Presbyterian Church, St. Louis, Marriage Index 1871-1879. Batch M515741 at FamilySearch - free.

North Presbyterian Church, St. Louis

  • 1850 - 1857 North Presbyterian Church, St. Louis, Baptism Index 1850-1857. Batch C515751 at FamilySearch - free.

Third Presbyterian Church, St. Louis

  • 1842 - 1850 Third Presbyterian Church, St. Louis, Baptism Index 1842-1850. Batch C515761 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1843 - 1846 Third Presbyterian Church, St. Louis, Marriage Index 1843-1846. Batch M515762 at FamilySearch - free.

County Directories

Court Records

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Naturalization
  • St. Louis County Library has created an Index to Naturalizationssite provides information on the various naturalization records from the U.S. Circuit Court.

Abbreviations found in the Naturalization Records of St. Louis Court records

  • CCC for Court of Criminal Corrections
  • CCCC for Criminal Court
  • Cir for Circuit Court
  • Com Pl for Court of Common Pleas
  • Law for Law of Common Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Ethnic Groups

African American Online Resources in St. Louis:

Local Histories

Local histories are available for St. Louis County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • The annals of St. Louis and a brief account of its foundation and progress, 1764-1928. [S.l. : s.n.], 1929.
  • Billon, Frederic Louis, 1801-1895. Annals of St. Louis in its territorial days, from 1804 to 1821 : being a continuation of the author's previous work the Annals of the French and Spanish period. St. Louis, Missouri : F.L. Billon, 1888.
  • Shepard, Elihu H., 1795-1876. The early history of St. Louis and Missouri : from its first exploration by white men in 1673 to 1843.Saint Louis : Southwestern Book and Pub. Co., 1870.
  • Saint Louis (Mo.). Heritage of St. Louis. St. Louis, Mo. : St. Louis Public Schools, 1964.
  • Scharf, John Thomas, 1843-1898. History of Saint Louis city and county, from the earliest periods to the present day, including biographical sketches of representative men. Philadelphia : L. H. Everts & Co., 1883.
  • St. Anthony Parish (St. Louis, Missouri). A souvenir of the diamond jubilee of St. Anthony Parish. St. Louis : Blackwell Wielandy Company, 1938.

Maps

Mostlouis.jpg

Military

General

Civil War

Online Records


Regiments Civil War service men from St. Louis County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed of men of St. Louis County; men from St. Louis County also served in Illinois companies, which are included in the below list.

- 2nd Regiment, Illinois Light Artillery, Battery E.
- 10th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 16th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company E.
- 43rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- 1st Regiment Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 1st Regiment Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 1st Regiment Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 1st Regiment Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 1st Regiment Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 10th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 10th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 10th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 10th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 10th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 10th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 10th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 10th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 10th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 10th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 11th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 11th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 11th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 11th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 11th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 11th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 11th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 11th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 11th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 11th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 12th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 12th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 12th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 12th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 12th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 12th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 12th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 12th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 12th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 12th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company L
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Compnay E
- 13th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 13th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 13th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 13th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 13th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 13th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 13th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 13th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 13th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 13th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 14th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 14th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 14th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 17th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 17th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 17th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 17th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 17th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 17th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 17th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 17th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 17th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 1st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (3 months 1861) (Union), BATTERY "B," 1st REGIMENT LIGHT ARTILLERY
- 26th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 26th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 26th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Merrill's Horse) (Union), Company "L"
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (3 months, 1861) (Union),
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 2nd Regiment, Missouri Light Artillery (Union),
- 2nd Regiment, US Reserve Corps, Missouri Infantry (3 months, 1861) (Union),
- 30th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 30th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 30th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 30th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 30th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 30th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 30th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 31st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 32nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 33rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 33rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 35th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 3rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 40th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 40th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 40th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 40th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 40th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 40th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 40th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 40th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 40th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 40th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 8th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 8th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 8th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 8th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 8th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 8th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 8th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 8th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 8th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 9th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 9th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 9th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 9th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 9th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 9th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 9th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 9th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 9th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- Engineer Regiment of the West, Missouri Volunteers (Union), Company A
- Engineer Regiment of the West, Missouri Volunteers (Union), Company D
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 14th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 14th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 14th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 16th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A

- 16th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 16th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 16th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 16th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 16th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 16th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 16th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 16th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 16th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 17th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 17th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 17th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 17th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 17th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 17th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 17th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 17th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 17th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 17th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 19th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 19th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 19th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 19th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 19th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 19th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 19th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 19th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 19th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 20th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 20th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 20th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 20th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 20th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 20th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 20th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 20th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 23rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 23rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 23rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 23rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 23rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 23rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 23rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 23rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 23rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 24th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 24th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 24th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 24th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 24th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 24th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 24th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 24th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 54th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Provisional Company B
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company G
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company I
- 6th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 6th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 6th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 6th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 6th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 6th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 6th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 6th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 6th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 6th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 7th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 7th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 7th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 7th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 7th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 7th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 7th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 7th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 7th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 7th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 7th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 7th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 7th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 7th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 7th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 7th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 14th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 2nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 3rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 4th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 33rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 26th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Louis County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


St. Louis Obiturary index: Compiled from the St. Louis Post Dispatch Newpaper covering the years 1880-1930, 1942-1945, 1960-1969, and 1992-2009. Sponsored by the St. Louis Public Library.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records (Civil)

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

See St. Louis County, Missouri Vital Records for information on St. Louis County vital records and their indexes.

Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

  • St. Louis Genealogical Society
    9011 Manchester, Suite 3
    St. Louis, MO 63144-2543
  • German American Heritage Society
    10 Maryland Plaza
    St. Louis, MO 63108
    Phone: 314-367-4303
  • German Cultural Institute
    326 N. Euclid Avenue
    St. Louis, MO 63108
    Phone: 314-367-2452


Family History Centers

  • Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to St. Louis County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of St. Louis County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "St. Louis Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "St. Louis County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to St. Louis County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St Louis County, Missouri. Page 406 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.