St. Landry Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to St. Landry Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|St. Landry Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 31, 1807|
|Address|| 118 South Court Street
Opelousas, LA 70570
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Bible Records
- 5.3 Biographies
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Obituaries
- 5.14 Probate
- 5.15 Schools
- 5.16 Taxation
- 5.17 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for Saint Landry. The County has Opelousas as its seat and the County was created 1807. The County is located in the central area of the state.
St. Landry Parish, Louisiana Record Dates
St. Landry Parish Courthouse
Court & Landry Street
Opelousas, LA 70570
Parish Clerk has marriage records from 1808,
divorce and court records from 1813 and probate
records from 1809.
- 1807--St. Landry Parish was created 31 March 1807 from Opelousas (Old) Parish.
Parish seat: Opelousas 
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
- Louisiana African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- Index to Bible Records, St. Landry Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- St. Landry Parish Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to St. Landry Parish Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- St. Landry Parish Family Records (USGenWeb Archives)
The following web sites may have additional information on St. Landry Parish cemeteries.
- Interment.net Louisiana cemetery records by Parish.
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
|St. Landry Parish Census Data|
- St. Landry Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1781 Census - List of Foreigners in the District of Opelousas and Attakapas and in New Iberia, May 15, 1781 (St. Landry Parish, LAGenWeb Project)
- Louisiana Census Images ~ USGenWeb Census Images Project
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana ~ by city ~ Church Angel
- Calvary Baptist Church Original Land Transaction (USGenWeb Archives)
- St. Landry Parish Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- St. Landry Parish Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Local histories are available for St. Landry Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories. Louisiana Museums
- St. Landry Parish Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Military History Online
- 1883 - St. Landry Parish List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — images
Regiments. Service men in St. Landry Parish, Louisiana Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in St. Landry Parish, Louisiana Genealogy:
- - 2nd Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Confederate), Company A
- - 3rd Regiment, Louisiana Cavalry (Harrison's)(Confederate), Company K
World War I
World War II
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Index to Louisiana World War II Casualties (St. Landry Parish, LAGenWeb Project)
- St. Landry Parish, Honor List of Dead and Missing Army & Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
- Louisiana Newspaper List ~ listing by name/parish ~ USNPL
- Louisiana Newspaper ~ listing ~ Newslink
- St. Landry Parish Newspaper Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Landry Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- St. Landry Parish Obituaries (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to St. Landry Parish Obituary Records (USGenWeb Archives
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the St. Landry Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1756-1984 - Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry.com Ancestry.com — index and images $
- St. Landry Parish Estates, Wills & Successions (USGenWeb Archives)
- St. Landry Parish School Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- Index to St. Landry Parish Birth Records by date. (Genealogy Trails)
- St. Landry Parish Baptism Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1771-1891 - Marriages of St. Landry Parish 1772-1891 (LAGenWeb Project)
- 1837-1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- St. Landry Parish Marriages (Genealogy Trails)
- St. Landry Parish Marriage Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 - Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- St. Landry Parish Death Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Societies and Libraries
Imperial St. Landry Genealogical & Historical Society
PO Box 118
Opelousas, LA 70571-0118
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- St. Landry Parish, LA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- St. Landry Parish, LAGenWeb, part of the USGenWeb Project
- St. Landry Parish, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- St. Landry Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- St. Landry Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- St. Landry Parish LA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Wikipedia contributors, "St. Landry Parish, Louisiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Landry_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., St Landry Parish, Louisiana p 292 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.