St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 31, 1807|
|Address|| 393 Highway 18 (River Road)|
P.O. Box 280
Edgard, Louisiana 70049
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for Saint John the Baptist Catholic Church in Edgard, built 1772. The County has Edgard as its seat and the County was created 1807. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
St. John the Baptist Parish Record Dates
1807--St. John the Baptist Parish was created 31 March 1807 from German Coast County, Discontinued 31 Mar. 1807.
Parish seat: La Place 
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
- [ Louisiana African American Griots Project] ~ USGenWeb Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- Afro-Louisiana History & Genealogy
- Index to St. John the Baptist Parish Biographies (LAGenWeb Project)
- Index to St. John the Baptist Parish Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
The following web sites may have additional information on St. John the Baptist Parish cemeteries.
- Interment.net Louisiana cemetery records by Parish.
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
|St. John the Baptist Parish Census Data|
- Census Records for St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- U.S. Census Records, St. John the Baptist Parish (LAGenWeb Project)
- Louisiana Census Images ~ USGenWeb Census Images Project
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana ~ by city ~ Church Angel
- Church of St. John the Baptist Parish (Genealogy Trails)
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- Index to Plantations of St. John the Baptist Parish (LAGenWeb Project)
Local histories are available for St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Louisiana Museums
- St. John the Baptist Parish History Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Records of Masons of St. John the Baptist Parish (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Military History Online
- 1883 - List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883, St. John the Baptist Parish (Genealogy Trails)
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — images
World War I
World War II
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Honor List of Dead and Missing Army & Army Air Forces Personnel, St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- Louisiana Newspaper List ~ listing by name/parish ~ USNPL
- Louisiana Newspaper ~ listing ~ Newslink
- News Items from St. John the Baptist Parish (Genealogy Trails)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- [http://www.worldcat.org/search?q=St.%2BJohn%2Bthe%2BBaptist%2BParish%2BLouisiana%2BNewspapers&qt=results_page J WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana Genealogy Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
- Index to St. John the Baptist Parish Obituary Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Online Obituary Links, St. John the Baptist Parish (LAGenWeb Project)
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1756 – 1984 Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry.com Ancestry.com — index and images $
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Societies and Libraries
The German-Acadian Coast Historical & Genealogical Society
PO BOx 517
Destrehan, Louisiana 70047
GERMAN-ACADIAN COAST HISTORICAL & GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY, INC.
PO Box 3086
LaPlace, Louisiana 70069-3086
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- St. John the Baptist Parish, LA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- St. John the Baptist Parish, LAGenWeb Project
- St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- German-Acadian Coast Historical and Genealogical Society
- St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- St. John the Baptist Parish LA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Wikipedia contributors, "St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._John_the_Baptist_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St. John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., St John the Baptist Parish, Louisiana p 292 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- United States Census Bureau. "St. John the Baptist Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22095.html. Retrieved 2007-06-12.
- United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2007-06-12.