St. Helena Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to St. Helena Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|St. Helena Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||October 27, 1810|
|Address|| 369 Sitman Street.|
Greensburg, LA 70441
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biographies
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church
- 5.6 Court
- 5.7 Land
- 5.8 Local Histories
- 5.9 Maps
- 5.10 Military
- 5.11 Newspapers
- 5.12 Obituaries
- 5.13 Probate
- 5.14 Schools
- 5.15 Taxation
- 5.16 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for Saint Helena. The County has Greensburg as its seat and the County was created October 27, 1810. The County is located in the central east area of the state.
St. Helena Parish, Louisiana Record Dates
St. Helena Parish Courthouse;
Greensburg, LA 70441
Parish Clerk has records from 1804
The small white building in front of the St. Helena Parish Courthouse was used as a Federal Land Office. It was built in 1820..
1810--St. Helena Parish was created 27 October 1810 from Spanish West Florida.
Parish seat: Greensburg 
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
- Index to St. Helena Parish Family Bibles (USGenWeb Archives)
- Index to St. Helena Parish Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Biographies of St. Helena Parish (Genealogy Trails)
- Saint Helena Parish Index - Family Histories (USGenWeb Archives)
The following web sites may have additional information on St. Helena Parish cemeteries.
- Interment.net Louisiana cemetery records by Parish.
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
|St. Helena Parish Census Data|
- St. Helena Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Index to St. Helena Parish Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- St. Helena Parish Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- Saint Helena Parish Index - Conveyance Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Local histories are available for St. Helena Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Index t St. Helena Parish History Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Index to St. Helena Parish Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Greater Greensburg Veterans War Memorial at St. Helena Parish Courthouse Historical Marker Database- lists names of veterans from World War I, World War II, Korea, and Vietnam.
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — images
World War I
World War II
- Index to Army Enlistment Records, St. Helena Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- Honor List of Dead and Missing Army & Army Air Forces Personnel, St. Helena Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Helena Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Do a St. Helena Parish, Louisiana Genealogy Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
- St. Helena Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to St. Helena Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the St. Helena Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- Index to St. Helena Parish Estate Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1756-1984 - Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry.com Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Index to St. Helena Parish School Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- St. Helena Parish USGenWeb Archives - Marriage Record Index, Obituaries, Death Records. Be sure to look at the Photo collection because there are images of documents there.
- Louisiana State Archives - Death records for the State of Louisiana that are over 50 years old are available (1911 +), also birth records for Orleans parish that are over 100 years old and marriage records for Orleans parish that are over 50 years old (1870 +) When doing a search be sure to use the advanced search option, you can search for a partial name, this help when there might be a variation of a name.
- 1816-1957 - Louisiana Marriages, 1816-1906 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Index to St. Helena Parish Marriage Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 - Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Index to St. Helena Parish Death Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Societies and Libraries
St. Helena Historical Society
Rt. 1, Box 131
Telephone: 707 967 5502
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- St. Helena Parish, LA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- St. Helena Parish, LAGenWeb Project, part of the USGenWeb Project
- St. Helena Parish, Louisiana, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- St. Helena Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- St. Helena Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- St. Helena LA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy}
- Wikipedia contributors, "St. Helena Parish, Louisiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Helena_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St. Helena Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., St Helena Parish, Louisiana p 292 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- United States Census Bureau. "St. Helena Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22091.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
- United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.