St. George Utah FamilySearch Library/Classes
|St George Utah FamilySearch Center|
|237 East 600 South|
St. George, Utah 84770
|Monday 9:00 am to 8:00 pm|
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 9:00 am to 9:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am to 4:00 pm
The St George FamilySearch Center Offers a Variety of Classes Every Day
No reservations are required. All classes are free to the public.
The handouts can be printed from the links provided below.
Click here for the June Class Schedule
CORE CLASSES[edit | edit source]
Ancestry.com[edit | edit source]
- This class describes how to obtain a free FamilySearch membership. Main topics include: Home Page navigation, creating and managing trees, importing GEDCOM files, linking people in FamilySearch to Ancestry, attaching hints, merging duplicates and research strategies.
FamilySearch Communities[edit | edit source]
- This class will discuss finding and evaluating what will be helpful - what Communities are the most valuable - and how they can help you further your research.
- Handout: 2020 FamilySearch Communities (Hammons)
FamilySearch: Descendancy Research[edit | edit source]
- Add new family members to your tree using the Descendancy View in FamilySearch. Learn where to start searching for spouses and children. Learn how to find, evaluate, and attach sources to find these new relatives.
FamilySearch: Duplicates (Matching and Merging)[edit | edit source]
- It might be exciting to find your great-grandmother in FamilySearch Family Tree. But what about finding her four times—each record with a little different information?
- Duplication can feel bewildering and frustrating. And yet finding an ancestor more than once in Family Tree is a fairly common occurrence. The reason for these duplicates (the term used when there are multiple records for the same individual) is because information in the tree comes from a variety of sources and because users can enter their own information directly into the tree. This class will teach you how to use FamilySearch features to resolve these duplications.
FamilySearch: Record Hints and Sourcing[edit | edit source]
- If you’ve poked around on your family tree on FamilySearch.org, you may have seen little blue boxes to the right of some of the names of people on your tree or in a Research Help box on the top right side of the individual screen. These blue boxes indicate there are record hints, which are shortcuts designed to help you find information about your family as painlessly as possible. FamilySearch is constantly scouring their digitized, indexed records to identify records that may match your family and these blue boxes signal to you that they might have succeeded. Linked to actual records that may include your family, these little hints can make a big difference on your family tree.
FamilySearch: Memories[edit | edit source]
- Learn how to upload and tag pictures, stories, documents and audio files using the FamilySearch Memories feature.
FamilySearch: Memories - Stories Workshop[edit | edit source]
- In this class we will discuss the value of sharing family stories. We will explore and discover stories; our own and our ancestors. We will create a short memory (story) and learn how to attach a picture.
[edit | edit source]
- The following topics are discussed:
- Personal settings: Account, Contact, Notifications, Preferences
- Home page: Recent Ancestors, To-Do Lists, Quick Links to Partner Sites, Messages, Get Help, Indexing, Temple
- Features:Pedigree Views, Summary Card, Person Details, Memories, Find, Lists, What’s New, Record Hints, Research Suggestions, Data Problems, Lightbulb tips.
- Memories: Gallery of Photos, Documents, Stories, Audio
- Search: Historical Record Collections, Genealogies, Catalog, Books, Wiki
FamilySearch: Social Networking & Crowd Sourcing for Family History[edit | edit source]
- Learn how to gather information from several Social Networking Apps
FamilySearch: Sources and Hints[edit | edit source]
- Learn how to make sure your ancestors are properly sourced [ie evaluating what is already there] and how to further your research using those sources already found. We will also talk about when you should delete a source, and why clean organized sources are critical for further research.
findmypast.com[edit | edit source]
- Learn how the features of this family history program. Findmypast has the largest collection of UK and Irish Parish records. They have the largest British and Irish newspaper collection and most comprehensive British military service record collection. Findmypast is a FamilySearch partner.
- Presentation: FindMyPast (Orman)
Getting Started - Where Do I Begin[edit | edit source]
- Learn how to gather information from home, interview parents and relatives to get information about your ancestors and enter it into FamilySearch.
Web Indexing[edit | edit source]
- Learn the ins and outs of how to be a successful web indexer.
My Heritage.com[edit | edit source]
- MyHeritage is an online genealogy platform with web, mobile, and software products and services. Users of the platform can create family trees, upload and browse through photos, and search billions of global historical records, among other features.
- Handout: My Heritage (Orman)
Research Strategies[edit | edit source]
- The following topics are discussed:
- Attaching sources using “Record Hints”.
- Searching with the FamilySearch search engine.
- Finding records including the “Browse Only” records.
- Using records in Ancestry.com.
Attaching Documents As Sources[edit | edit source]
- Handout: Attaching Documents as Sources (2014) (FamilySearch)
COUNTRY SPECIFIC CLASSES[edit | edit source]
British Research (1837-Present)[edit | edit source]
- The first effective census for researchers occurred in 1841 with the most recently released being 1911. Finding ancestors in households, with siblings and parents creates a snapshot in time, and opens up other avenues of family history research to family members.
- In recognizing the need for more accurate record keeping, the government began Civil Registration on July 1, 1837. The records of births, marriages and deaths in England and Wales are available to everyone and a valuable resource for that time period.
England & Wales – Records of the Church and Their Poor (Pre-1837)[edit | edit source]
- The Church of England and Wales, as the governing body for centuries, not only recorded parishioners’ life events but managed their affairs. They maintained the roads, paid the bell ringer and supplied spiritual guidance. One of their most enduring works was to serve the poor. Apprenticeship records, bastardy bonds and settlement/removal papers aid in identifying family lines accurately.
Crossing the Pond[edit | edit source]
- This presentation will give you research strategies on what records are available, and where to find those records. Locate where your ancestors came from, how they traveled to America, where they settled and how to locate Naturalization records.
Danish Research[edit | edit source]
- The following topics are discussed:
- Patronymic naming -- Danish Counties and Parishes -- How to read Danish Parish Records -- How to find names using Danish URL sites.
English Research 1:Parish Records[edit | edit source]
- This class will teach how to find and understand parish registers of England. These are excellent resources providing information on baptisms, marriages, and burials. They have remarkably good coverage because by law, everyone except Quakers and Jews were required to be married in the Church of England regardless of religious affiliation. The earliest parish records were made in 1538.
English Research 2:Civil Registration Records[edit | edit source]
- This class is a basic course on birth, marriage and death records recorded through the civil registration system in Englandbeginning in 1837. It gives some introduction and background to the records, the kind of information found in them, and important things to know before beginning your search. It then covers searching for birth, marriage and death records in indexes. This class will also review English Census Records and what they contain.
German, Swiss, Italian, Polish Research[edit | edit source]
Hispanic Research[edit | edit source]
Irish: America to Ireland[edit | edit source]
- This class provides a step-by-step process for researching the family of 42-year old Hugh Brady who immigrated to the United States in 1899 from Leitrim, Ireland. During the class you will learn how to use most of the major web sites available for researching your Irish ancestors.
Irish Research[edit | edit source]
- It is not true that all the records of Ireland were destroyed. Civil Registration (1845-present), Census records (1901 & 1911) and Church records (pre-1845) can aid in your Ireland research. Understanding jurisdictions, immigration patterns and land records will enable you to locate your family and be proud of your Irish heritage.
New England Research[edit | edit source]
- This class is helpful for those researching ancestors from Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Connecticut, Vermont and New York.
- Handout: New England Research (2019) (Hammons)
Pacific Isle Research[edit | edit source]
- (Au Quin)
Scotland Research[edit | edit source]
- (Beginner/Intermediate) A safe and very reasonably priced pay-as-you-go web site, “ScotlandsPeople” is one of the largest online sources of original, digitized records. From census records to civil registration, old parochial & Catholic registers, wills, valuation rolls and military records, it is a treasure trove of affordable discoveries for anyone researching in Scotland either in the past or in the present.
Swedish Research[edit | edit source]
OTHER CLASSES[edit | edit source]
Adding Photos and Graphics to Family Histories[edit | edit source]
- Make your written family histories and newsletters come to life by including photographs. Learn how to format your photo, move it on the page, add a border and a caption..
American Ancestors - FamilySearch Center Premium Site[edit | edit source]
American Ancestors is a FamilySearch Premium Website that contains collections from the 17th century colonial New England to the 20th century. This site is an online repository, not limited to to New England, for more than 1 billion searchable names from America and beyond. The class will help you unlock this valuable resource. (American Ancestors can be accessed FREE at the St. George FamilySearch Center; otherwise, this is a paid subscription site for at home use.)
Breaking Brick Walls[edit | edit source]
- At some point, every family historian encounters a barrier in their genealogy research. These barriers are known as brick walls and they can often appear impossible to work around. This class will give you ideas and resources to help you up and over your brick wall.
- Handout: Breaking Brick Walls (2019) (Hammons)
Census Records: Getting to Know about Your Family in the Federal Census[edit | edit source]
- Discover how to find information in census records about you relatives. Learn how to locate, compare and find facts about names, marriages, home addresses, moves, children, occupations, siblings and parents, education level, grandchildren, birth dates, maiden names, property ownership and assets, new spouses, relatives next door, farms and more.
- Handout: Census Research (Sullivan)
- Handout: Census Quick Sheet (2019) (Hammons) (Orman)
- Handout: Getting the Most Out of the Census (2019) (Hammons)
City Directories[edit | edit source]
- (Ellsworth) (Sullivan)
Computers - How to Buy a Computer[edit | edit source]
- Handout: Buy a Computer Notes (Daley)
Cyber Security[edit | edit source]
- Learn about protecting your home's computer connection to the Internet.
Ancestry DNA/Gedmatch Basics[edit | edit source]
- You take an Ancestry DNA test, now what do you do with your results? This class will explore step by step navigation and interpretation of your test, through the DNA section of your Ancestry account. It will then show you how to move your Ancestry DNA data over to Gedmatch, a third party database, to identify more possible matches.
- To learn more about the specifics of DNA, click this link to the FamilySearch Research WIKI - About DNA
Family History Guide[edit | edit source]
- Spanish version Handout: Family History Guide-Spanish (Ellsworth)
FamilySearch Apps[edit | edit source]
- Many individuals equate genealogy with names, dates, and dusty old records. That can be part of it, but the worth of memories (pictures, stories, audio and video) is much greater. The free FamilySearch Memories app helps users capture family memories, photos and even conversations.
Family History on Your Mobile Device[edit | edit source]
- Learn how to do your Family History "On the Go". Learn how to research, edit your trees, locate family records, take notes, save websites, edit photos, and find the best apps for Family History, and how to best prepare for researching away from your home computer.
FamilySearch: Games and Activities[edit | edit source]
- This class teaches simple family history games and activities available online. What a fun way to make a boring subject fun and exciting. Most of the games require a FamilySearch account and at least 30 ancestors in your family tree.
FamilySearch WIKI[edit | edit source]
- The FamilySearch Wiki is a tool for finding information about the record collections that may have been generated about your ancestors. The Wiki will guide your research, help you locate best websites, find vital records, histories, census records, maps and much more. Find out why the Wiki should be one of your stops as you begin your family research.
File Management / File Explorer[edit | edit source]
- This class provides instruction on the use of the File Management program in Windows. Save Files, Copy, Paste, Move, etc. Understand how file storage works, the use of flash drives and other external storage devices.
Find A Grave[edit | edit source]
- The following topics are discussed: Brief History of Find A Grave -- How to do the searches -- How to contribute information -- How to create a memorial page
Finding An Ancestor to Take to the Temple[edit | edit source]
- Learn to use at least one of these search programs -- Find-A-Record, Puzilla, Hope Chest, BYU Virtual Pedigree, and FamilySearch Descendancy -- to find ancestors who are prepared to go to the Temple.
- Presentation: Find A Name (Orman)
Geneanet - A FamilySearch Partner Europe Research Site[edit | edit source]
- Did you know that FamilySearch has a new partner, Geneanet? Along with Ancestry, FindMyPast, American Ancestors, and My Heritage, you can now sign up for Geneanet and access their vast genealogical library. Why would you want to add another partner? Hidden in the thousands of books and newspapers digitized byGeneanet might be just the clue you need.
- Geneanet is a Europe-based genealogy research service headquartered in France. Launched in 1996 specifically to help family historians search for and share relevant information, the website has had over a decade to accumulate submitted data and add that to its small but formidable archive of records. The active Geneanet member has shared over 400 million individual names with familial connections through their created family trees; this activity is, of course, bolstered by Geneanet’s hundreds of thousands of digitized historical records, registers, books and photos. Though some records and search options are marked for premium-only access, it’s worth noting that it’s entirely possible to maintain a useful Geneanet member account for free, forever.
Google and Internet Research[edit | edit source]
- The Internet is a source rich with Family History content, and much of that content is not on FamilySearch or Ancestry. This class will help you harness that power by showing you how to use the Internet safely and effectively. You will be shown other search engines, but most features will be shown using Google Tools for Genealogy, which are powerful and free.
Hope Chest[edit | edit source]
- Hope Chest is an extension of Google Chrome that helps FamilySearch users to find cousins needing work using descendancy.
Land and Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- Why Land and Probate? These records are called the backbone of Genealogical Research because they apply to more people in America than any other record [including the census]. The are findable, readable and there is a county wide index from the 1600's. They are the most re-created record in the case of a court house being burned. They lead also lead you to other records. Land and probate records can be valuable in other countries.
Logs and Timelines[edit | edit source]
- Logs and Timelines are two of your best tools for Family History Research. A research log helps your organize and track your work, and prevents duplication of your resources. A timeline puts your ancestor in context, helps you spot problems and gaps in your research and helps identify where you need to search next. This class will help you learn how to create, store and use these great genealogy tools.
- Handout: Logs and Timelines (2019) (Hammons)
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Military records can often provide valuable information on the veteran, as well as on all members of the family. This class provides you with many websites to help you successfully search military records
- Handout: US Military Records (R Montague)
Online Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Digital libraries give family history researchers access to books, wills, stories, pictures, and audio files that have been elusive because of their physical location at a physical library. Digitizing books and library collections makes volumes of information available to all by using various online library sources. Come learn how to find, access, download and use these valuable new resources.
Online Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- (Ellsworth) (Sullivan)
Passwords: Making Them Secure[edit | edit source]
Photo Editing[edit | edit source]
Publishing Your Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Our expert instructor will teach you how to publish their biographies on Create Space, which is a sister company to Amazon. Publishing on Create Space is free. Examples will be presented.
Puzzilla[edit | edit source]
- Discover a free versatile and powerful tool that helps you find the holes in your family tree so you can focus your research on finding those missing ancestors. The premium version helps you extend your search parameters, keeps a log of ancestors who need ordinance work, and researches sources and ancestors with possible duplicates.
Unindexed Records[edit | edit source]
- (Campbell) (Ellsworth)
Vital Records Online[edit | edit source]
Why Do Family Historians Need A Proof Standard?[edit | edit source]
Write Your Life Story by Answering Questions[edit | edit source]
Writing Your Family History[edit | edit source]
- Learn the most important elements of writing and make your ancestors come alive on paper. Make your family legacy something your children will remember. Do your children know their heritage? What are your traditions? Each of us has a story from our ancestors or even our own story to tell. Your children need to know their grandparents. It's up to us to write these experiences down.
- 18 Tips - How to Tell (and Write) Personal and Family History - Click here https://www.familysearch.org/blog/en/18-writing-tips-tell-stories/
Modified 2/17/2020 by Elder B Hales