St. Croix County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from St. Croix County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
St. Croix County


Guide to St. Croix County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hudson
Organized: March 11, 1848
Parent County(s): Crawford[1]
Neighboring Counties
Barron  • Dunn  • Pierce  • Polk  • Washington (MN)
See County Maps
Courthouse
St. Croix County Courthouse WI.jpg
Location Map
WI Saint Croix.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County has Hudson as its seat and the County was created 1849. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

St. Croix County Courthouse
1101 Carmichael Road
Hudson, Wi 54016
Phone: 715-386-4609
St. Croix County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Register in Probate has probate records.[3]

St. Croix County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1858 1852 1876 1850 1849 1849 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in St. Croix County, Wisconsin:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of St. Croix County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 809
1850 624 −22.9%
1860 5,392 764.1%
1870 11,035 104.7%
1880 18,956 71.8%
1890 23,139 22.1%
1900 26,830 16.0%
1910 25,910 −3.4%
1920 26,106 0.8%
1930 25,455 −2.5%
1940 24,842 −2.4%
1950 25,905 4.3%
1960 29,164 12.6%
1970 34,354 17.8%
1980 43,262 25.9%
1990 50,251 16.2%
2000 63,155 25.7%
2010 84,345 33.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing St. Croix census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
First Lutheran Church, New Richmond

  • Records of the First Lutheran Church, New Richmond, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Glenwood City

  • Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Glenwood City, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Star Prairie

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Star Prairie, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI ST. CROIX.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in St. Croix served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in St. Croix:

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company D
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company H with men from the town of Forest, which is found in Fond du Lac County, Richland County, St. Croix County or Vernon County

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the St. Croix Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the St. Croix Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • University Archives and Area Research Center
    Chalmer Davee Library
    University of Wisconsin-River Falls
    120 Cascade Avenue
    River Falls, WI 54022
    Phone: 715-425-3567
    Fax: 715-425-0609
    Email: archives@uwrf.edu
    Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Chalmer Davee Library
    University Archives and Area Research Center
    University of Wisconsin-River Falls
    120 Cascade Avenue
    River Falls, WI 54022
    Phone: 715-425-3567
    Fax: 715-425-0609
    Email: archives@uwrf.edu
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • St Croix County Historical Society
    1104 Third Street
    Hudson, WI 54016
    Phone: 715-386-2654
    Website
  • New Richmond Heritage Center
    1100 Heritage Dr
    New Richmond, WI 54017
    Phone: 715-246-3276
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "St. Croix County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Croix_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St. Croix County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.