St. Clair County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Michigan Genealogy
St. Clair County

Guide to St. Clair County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

St. Clair County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 28, 1820
County Seat Port Huron
Courthouse
Address St. Clair County Courthouse
201 McMorran Blvd.
Port Huron, MI 48060-4006
Phone: (810) 985-2200
St. Clair County Website


County Information

St. Clair County, Michigan Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1834 1868 1820 1821 1828

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth records from 1867, marriage records from 1834,
death records from 1868, divorce and court records from 1849. [2]

History

Parent County

1820--St. Clair County was created 28 March 1820 from Macomb County. It was attached to Macomb County prior to organization 8 May 1821.  County seat: Port Huron [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Lapeer  • Macomb  • Sanilac

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
MIInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for St. Clair County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps

  • Mistclair.jpg Standard atlas of St. Clair County, Michigan : including a plat book of the villages, cities and townships of the county...farmers directory, reference business directory and departments devoted to general information / compiled and published by Geo. A. Ogle & Co.
    Geo. A. Ogle & Co.
    Chicago: Geo. A. Ogle, 1897. 

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from St. Clair County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from St. Clair County.

-

Newspapers

Finding More Michigan Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Clair County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, St. Clair and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Birth
Marriage
Death


Societies and Libraries

St. Clair County Family History Group, Inc.
PO Box 611483
Port Huron, Michigan 48061-1483
Website

St. Clair Shores Genealogical Group
22500 Eleven Mile Rd.
St. Clair Shores 48081

The Searchers c/o Pierson
14300 "V" Avenue
Vicksburg MI 49097-9360

Rootstalkers The
PO Box 161
Anchorville 48004

Algonac Clay Historical Society
1240 St. Clair River Dr.
PO Box 228
Algonac, MI 48001
Telephone: 810-794-9015
Website

Capac Historical Society Museum Mission
401 East Kempf
Capac Michigan, 48014
Telephone: 810-395-2859
E-mail:capacmuseum@hotmail.com
Website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St Clair County, Michigan page 350, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).