St. Charles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to St. Charles Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|St. Charles Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 31, 1807|
|Address||15045 River Road|
Hahnville, LA 70057
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Saint Charles. The County has Hahnville as its seat and the County was created 1807. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
St. Charles Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
St. Charles Parish Courthouse
PO Box 302;
Hahnville, LA 70057-0302
Parish Clerk has marriage, probate, land and court records.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
1807--St. Charles Parish was created 31 March 1807 from German Coast County, Discontinued 31 Mar. 1807.
Parish seat: Hahnville 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries, listing by county
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Index to St. Charles Parish Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on St. Charles Parish cemeteries.
Census[edit | edit source]
|St. Charles Parish Census Data|
- St. Charles Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1860 - St. Charles Parish Louisiana 1860 Census (Genealogy Trails)
- Louisiana Census Images (USGenWeb Census Images Project)
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
Court[edit | edit source]
- Index to St. Charles Parish Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for St. Charles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Louisiana Museums
- St. Charles Parish History Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Historical Sketch of St. Charles Parish (Genealogy Trails)
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — images
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Newspaper List, listing by name/parish (USNPL)
- Louisiana Newspaper listing (Newslink)
- St. Charles Parish Newspaper Articles (USGenWeb Archives)
- St. Charles Parish Newspaper Marriage Notices (Genealogy Trails)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Charles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Do a St. Charles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- St. Charles Parish Obituaries (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to St. Charles Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the St. Charles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- St. Charles Parish Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 - Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1850 Mortality Index, St. Charles Parish (Genealogy Trails)
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- River Road Historical Society
13034 River Road
Destrehan, LA 70047
- German and Acadian Coast Historical and Genealogical Society
PO Box 3086
LaPlace, LA 70069-3086
- Louisiana Historical Society
- Louisiana Historical Association
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- St. Charles Parish (LAGenWeb)
- St. Charles Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- St. Charles Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- St. Charles Parish Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- St Charles LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Saint Charles, Louisiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Charles_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St. Charles Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., St Charles Parish, Louisiana p 292 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- United States Census Bureau. "St. Charles Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22089.html. Retrieved 2007-06-12.
- United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2007-06-12.