St. Charles County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
St. Charles County

Guide to St. Charles County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: St. Charles
Organized: October 1, 1812
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Calhoun (IL)  • Franklin  • Jersey (IL)  • Lincoln  • Madison (IL)  • St. Louis  • Warren
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriStCharlesCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri St. Charles County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for Charles Borromeo. The county has St. Charles as its seat and the county was created October 1, 1812. The County is located in the east central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

St. Charles County Courthouse
201 N 2nd Street
St. Charles, MO 63301
Phone: 636-949-7550
St. Charles County Website

Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records.
Probate Court has probate records.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has court records.[3]

St. Charles County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1807 1867 1808 1804 1805 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1812 St. Charles County was created October 1, 1812 as an original county.
  • County seat: St. Charles[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in St. Charles County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of St. Charles County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing St. Charles County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

The St. Charles Borromeo Catholic Church was established in St. Charles in 1791. As the population grew, additional parishes flourished in the county. Extractions of the early records are available, and provide information on baptisms, marriages and deaths. An influx of German immigrants led to the establishment of Evangelical and Lutheran churches. Records of these churches have been extracted and are available for research.

Evangelical
Femme Osage Evangelical Church

  • 1836-1891 Femme Osage Evangelical Church Baptism Index 1836-1891. Batches C734024 and C726721 at FamilySearch.[6]

Court Records

A Court of Common Pleas was established in 1805. It was later replaced by a Circuit Court. Court case files from 1805 to 1845 have been indexed and microfilmed by the Missouri State Archives. Additional case files are still being processed.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse. The land encompassed by St. Charles County was ruled by the French and then the Spanish prior to the Louisiana Purchase. Spanish land grants were given to many settlers migrating from territory of the U. S. One of the famous early settlers was Daniel Boone, who came with over 100 families in the late 18th century.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for St. Charles County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Early History of St. Charles and St. Charles County. By J. C. Holmes. 1912. St. Charles : Banner-News. Available online at FamilySearch

Maps and Gazetteers

{{{county}}}

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments
Service men in St. Charles County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in St. Charles County:

- 1st Regiment Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Unassigned Company
- 1st Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company A
- 1st Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company B
- 1st Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company C
- 1st Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company D
- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B

- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 27th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company M

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Charles County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Original probate court records, probate files, and will books of the 19th century are held by the St. Charles County Historical Society.  Probate files have been microfilmed by State Archives.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • St. Charles County Historical Society
    101 South Main Street
    St. Charles, MO 63301
    Phone: 636-946-9828
    Website
    The Society has an extensive collection of materials relevant to family history. It is the repository of 19th century will books, probate records, naturalization records, and court records. It also houses many compiled genealogies, and indexes to many church records and cemeteries of the county.

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "St. Charles County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Charles_County,_Missouri, accessed 17 Sept 2018.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St. Charles County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.