To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St. Annes Parish, Essex Genealogy and Caroline, Virginia

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  St. Anne's Parish

Vautersessex.jpg

History[edit | edit source]

St. Anne's Parish has served Essex and Caroline counties. The parish church is called Vauter's Church.

Founded[edit | edit source]

Boundary[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Vautersessexdoorway.jpg

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Meade's 1861 history of St. Anne's Parish is available online.[2]

P.S. Hunter's history of Vauter's Church, St. Anne's Parish, Essex County, Virginia (1907) has been digitized by Google Books.[3]

"Vauter's Church, St. Anne's Parish, Essex County," Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 1, No. 4 (Feb./Mar. 1993):187-190.

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial parish registers do not survive.

Vestry Books[edit | edit source]

The original St. Anne's Vestry Book, dated 1787-1857, is kept at the Library of Virginia.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  3. Colonial Churches: A Series of Sketches of Churches in the Original Colony of Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Southern Churchman Co., 1907), 162-166.