Sri Lanka Genealogy
|Sri Lanka Wiki Topics|
|Sri Lanka Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Sri Lanka ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Sri Lanka is an island country in the Indian Ocean off the coast of Asia whose nearest neighbor is India. It was formerly ruled by Portugal, The Netherlands, and Great Britain. The official languages are Sinhalese and Tamil.
Getting Started with Sri Lanka Research
Links to articles on getting started with Sri Lanka research.
Sri Lanka Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Sri Lanka research.
Sri Lanka Map
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Sri Lanka. For more detail, see the U.N. map.
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Sri Lanka. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
Sri Lanka is divided into eight provinces.
Note: In October 2006, the Sri Lankan Supreme Court rule voided a presidential directive merging the North and Eastern Provinces. Many have defended the merger as a prerequisite for a negotiated settlement to the ethnic conflict. A parliamentary decision on the issue is pending.
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
- BBC - Tracing your Asian roots on the Indian subcontinent
- Ceylon Tamils is a site one can search. It is specific to Ceylon Tamil people, and the information has been entered by others.
- Genealogy.com Forum
- CoraWeb for India and Sri Lanka.
- Ministry of Agriculture provides maps, annual rainfall, etc. to help determine where farmers might have lived.
- Sri Lanka Maps, geography, and history
- Burial records and graveyard indexes
- Wikipedia contributors, "Sri Lanka," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sri_Lanka, accessed 21 April 2016.