Sprotborough, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Sprotborough, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Doncaster|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Sprotborough St Mary is an Ancient Parish which included Cadeby, Sprotborough with Cusworth and Doncaster Bridge, and Cusworth. The civil parish is Sprotborough and Cusworth
The Parish Church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Spotborough Wikipedia
SPROTBOROUGH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Doncaster, N. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York; containing, with the township of Cadeby, 534 inhabitants,of whom 381 are in Sprotborough township, 2¾ miles(W. S. W.) from Doncaster. 
Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Sprotborough parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Sprotborough Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 159-164. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.