| Springfield-Greene County Library Center
E-mail: Ask a Librarian contact form
- The Library Center
4653 S. Campbell Ave.
Springfield, MO 65810-1723
Hours and holidays: Monday-Saturday 8:30 a.m.-9 p.m.; Sunday 1-5 p.m.
Map and public transportation:
Internet sites and databases:
- Home in Springfield-Greene County Library District research, catalog, local history, kids, teens, programs, library services, tech center, hours and locations.
- Local History contact info, articles, research online, research guides, and programs.
- COOLcat catalog online. Combined catalog of The Library Center, the Library Station branch, the Ozarks Genealogical Society Library, and the Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Library, among others. Search by keyword, title, author, subject, magazine/newpaper title, or call number. Also available in WorldCat.
The Springfield-Greene County Library Center collection for southern Missouri includes censuses 1830-1930, access to subscription databases like Ancestry, HeritageQuest, and Fold3, church histories, directories 1878-2006, online deaths 1910-1964, online deeds 1833-1877, online Greene county histories, births, marriages, probate, local newspapers 1881-2006, maps, fire insurance maps, plat books, 53 active and 40 inactive genealogical periodicals, high school and college yearbooks, photos of landmarks, and cemetery transcripts. In addition, they have material on the effects of the Civil War on Greene County. The Lena Wills professional genealogist and columnist collection is found here. The Native American collection includes tribes of Missouri, the Dawes Rolls, the Guion Miller Rolls, and other Cherokee sources. 
Genealogy workshops are offered on a regular basis.
The Library Center houses part of the Ozarks Genealogical Society collection, but a large portion is still in the OGS Library.
Also, the Library Station branch houses the Marilyn S. Hodges collection—more than 350 books covering North Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky and Virginia genealogy, as well as a portion of Dr. William K. Hall’s Index to Items of Genealogical Interest, a printed source which covers births, deaths, marriages, divorces, engagements, and anniversaries that appeared in Springfield newspapers.
Guide to Local History and Genealogy Department Collections including censuses, Missouri research, city directories, Civil War, genealogies, newspapers, Native Americans, maps, and periodicals.
If you cannot visit or find a source at the Springfield-Greene County Library Center, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- Mid-Continent Public Library Midwest Genealogy Center, Independence, a great American genealogy collection: censuses, MO federal land sales, penitentiary, St. Louis fur trade, Civil War, passenger lists, plantations, American Indians, city directories, newspapers, Draper Manuscripts, and KY taxes.</ref>
- National Archives at Kansas City federal censuses 1790–1930; selected military service indexes, pension indexes, passenger lists, naturalizations, photos, adoptions, vital records, land, and Indian records.</ref>
- Springfield-Greene County Health Department, Springfield, has births 1920-present; deaths 1980-present.
- Greene County Archives and Records Center, Springfield, births 1883-1902, marriages since 1833, deaths 1883-1902, divorces 1837-1950, probate 1833-1990, deeds 1833-1960s, civil and criminal court cases 1833-1991, coroner 1830s-1970s, military discharges, schools, taxes, road books, and petitions.
- U.S. District Court, Western District of Missouri, Springfield, recent civil, criminal, or bankruptcy cases.
- Flower Pentecostal Heritage Center, Springfield, official archives, research center, and museum of the Assemblies of God.
- Missouri Pacific Historical Society, Bucklin, railroad heritage including some employee records. This railroad had several affiliate railroads.
- Ozarks Afro-American Heritage Museum, Walnut Grove, a repository of local Afro-American culture, with an ever-growing collection.
- Republic Historical Society online center for historical research in Republic, Missouri.
- Springfield Missouri Family History Center has premium online services for free and offers research guidance.
- Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Library, Republic, helps find ancestors who served in the U.S. Civil War.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Christian, Dade, Dallas, Lawrence, Polk, and Webster.
- Community of Christ Library and Archives, Independence, books, periodicals, letters, and diaries of the of the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints/Community of Christ.
- Concordia Historical Institute, St. Louis, Department of Archives and History of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod.
- Episcopal Diocese of Missouri Archives, St. Louis, a library, extensive document and photograph collections, and parish registers.
- Kansas City Public Library Missouri Valley Special Collections, The Missouri Valley Room has a great genealogy collection for Missouri and Kansas with biographies, periodicals, genealogies, diaries, photos, scrapbooks, and newspapers of the Kansas City area. 
- Missouri Bureau of Vital Records, Jefferson City, central registry of Missouri births and deaths since 1910; marriages and divorces since 1948.
- Missouri History Museum Library, St. Louis, has regional history sources, St. Louis, Missouri, the Mississippi and Missouri Valleys, the Louisiana Purchase, American West: indexes, guides, catalogs, photos, genealogy workshops. Many records of Missouri settlers from Illinois.</ref>
- Missouri State Archives, Jefferson City, has court, land, military, death records, federal censuses, county and municipal records, photos, penitentiary, and manuscript records. Birth and death record index since 1883 is online; birth records 1883-1895; marriages 1827-1937.
- Missouri United Methodist Archives, Fayette, historical materials on Methodism in Missouri emphasizing ministers.
- Roman Catholic Archdiocese of St. Louis Office of Archives and Records parish christenings, confirmations, marriages, and deaths.
- St. Louis County Library, a Missouri collection including the National Genealogical Society, and St. Louis Genealogical Society collections, online databases, federal censuses, births, deaths, cemeteries, church records, military records, naturalizations, newspapers, wills, African American records, and yearbooks.
- St. Louis Mercantile Library, early newspapers, railroads, inland waterways, county records, biographies, and genealogies. A premier library for Missouri research.</ref>
- St. Louis Public Library has an Obituary Index for the years 1880–1927; 1942–1945; 1992–2006, family histories, passenger lists, Heritage Quest, and Gateway Family Historian publication.
- Saul Brodsky Jewish Community Library, St. Louis, comprehensive source for Judaica. 23,000 books.
- State Historical Society of Missouri, Columbia, census, maps, newspapers, online tools, oral history, photos, historical manuscripts, and reference materials.</ref>
- Repositories in surrounding states: Arkansas, Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Tennessee.
- Allen County Public Library, Ft. Wayne IN, has a premier genealogical periodical collection including Missouri, genealogies, local histories, databases, military, censuses, directories, passenger lists, American Indians, African Americans, Canadians.
- Dallas Public Central Library, outstanding genealogical collection with records for more than Texas, including Missouri, Oklahoma, the South, Mid-Atlantic, and New England states.
- Newberry Library, a large Chicago repository with genealogies, local histories, censuses, military, land, indexes, vital records, court, and tax records mostly from the Mississippi Valley, Missouri, eastern seaboard, Canada, and British Isles.
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Local History in Springfield-Greene County Library District (accessed 24 March 2016).
- ↑ Locations and Hours in Springfield-Greene County Library District (accessed 24 March 2016).
- ↑ William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 67. WorldCat 39493985; FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Guide to Local History and Genealogy Department Collections in Springfield-Greene County Library District (accessed 15 March 2014).
- ↑ Research in Ozarks Genealogical Society (accessed 15 March 2014).
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 394. WorldCat 55947869; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 9th ed. (Draper, UT : Everton Publishers, 1999), 231. WorldCat 50140092; FHL Book 973 D27e 1999.
- ↑ List of Available Records in Greene County Archives and Records Center (accessed 23 March 2016).
- ↑ Home in United States Courts Western Missouri (accessed 23 March 2016).
- ↑ Introduction to LDS Family History Centers in Family History Research Wiki (accessed 29 February 2016).
- ↑ The Hulston Library in Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Missouri in National Park Service (accessed 15 March 2014).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 47 and 67.
- ↑ Special Collections in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 7 March 2014).
- ↑ Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce Information in Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (accessed 3 March 2016).
- ↑ Vital Records in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 2 Feb 2016).
- ↑ Online guide to St. Louis sources in the History and Genealogy Department in St. Louis County Library (accessed 2 February 2016).
- ↑ Genealogists in St. Louis Public Library (accessed 3 February 2016).
- ↑ Genealogy Center Collections in Genealogy Center (accessed 27 February 2015).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 107.
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 39.