Spondon, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Spondon, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Werburgs Spondon Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1661|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Spondon St Werburgh is an Ancient Parish in Derbyshire.
SPONDON (St. Mary), an ancient parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 3½ miles (E. by S.) from Derby. There are places of worship for Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists..
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Spondon St Werburgh included the chapelry of Stanley, Derbyshire
Spondon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SPONDON PARISH Online Records|
Derbyshire Record Office reference D2990 has deposited registers Bap 1653-1981 Mar 1653-1976 Burials 1653-1922 Banns 1931-1945, 1948-1968, 1978-1986
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1661-1862 Mar 1661-1837 Burials 1661-1862
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Spondon on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]