Spofforth, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Spofforth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wetherby|
|Parish registers: 1599|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1598|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York Court of the Peculiar of the Honour of Knaresborough|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
- 1 Parish History
- 2 Neighboring Parishes
- 3 Resources
- 4 Maps and Gazetteers
- 5 References
SPOFFORTH (All Saints), a parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Follifoot, Linton, Plumpton, Little Ribston, and Wetherby, 3398 inhabitants, of whom 969 are in the township of Spofforth with Stockeld, 3¼ miles (N. W. by W.) from Wetherby. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from parish registers of Spofforth exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|SPOFFORTH PARISH (1599) Online Records|
|| 1599-1846, 1910-1911
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Linton in Craven and comprising the whole ancient parish of Spofforth to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Spofforth page.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 159-164. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
- 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.