Spartanburg County, South Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Spartanburg County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
|Spartanburg County, South Carolina|
Location in the state of South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Spartanburg County, South Carolina Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 History
- 5 Places/Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Research Guides
- 6.2 African Americans
- 6.3 Biography
- 6.4 Cemeteries
- 6.5 Census
- 6.6 Church
- 6.7 Court
- 6.8 DNA
- 6.9 Genealogy
- 6.10 Immigration
- 6.11 Land and Property
- 6.12 Local Histories
- 6.13 Maps
- 6.14 Military
- 6.15 Newspapers
- 6.16 Obituaries
- 6.17 Periodicals
- 6.18 Probate
- 6.19 Schools
- 6.20 Taxation
- 6.21 Vital Records
- 7 Archives, Libraries, and Museums
- 8 Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage
- 9 Websites
- 10 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Spartanburg, SC Metropolitan Statistical Area. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.
Spartanburg County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Spartanburg County Courthouse
180 Magnolia St.
Spartanburg, South Carolina 29306
Clerk of Court
180 Magnolia St., 2nd floor. Suite 500
Spartanburg, SC 29306
Court and land records
180 Magnolia St., 1st Floor, Suite 302
Spartanburg, SC 29306
Probate and marriage records
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
History[edit | edit source]
The county is named after the Spartan Regiment. Known in history as the site of the Revolutionary War Battle of Cowpens.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1795--"Spartan District" was created in 1795 from Ninety-Six District. In 1791 at the request of the citizens the legislature renamed the same place Spartanburg District (county) in honor of the district/county seat. in 1868 all districts including Spartanburg were renamed counties.
County seat: Spartanburg 
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Variant Spellings[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
- 1890 Lost census
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Spartanburg County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
African Americans[edit | edit source]
- Eelman, Bruce W. "'An Educated and Intelligent People Cannot Be Enslaved': The Struggle for Common Schools in Antebellum Spartanburg, South Carolina," History of Education Quarterly, Vol. 44, No. 2 (Summer, 2004), pp. 250-270. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- Heinegg, Paul. "'Other Free' Heads of Household in the 1790 South Carolina Census, by County," Free African Americans.com. [Includes free blacks in Spartanburgh County.]
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:
- Mountain Shoals - Enoree
- Thomas Price - Moore
- Walnut Grove - Roebuck
Biography[edit | edit source]
- Boggs, John. The Southern Christian; Exemplified in the Memoirs of Anthony Jefferson Pearson, Who Died August 31st, 1834 in Spartanburgh, South Carolina. New York: Ezra Collier, 1835. Digital version at Internet Archive.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|SCGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- To view a cemetery list, see Spartanburg County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
- National Cemetery Administration
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1829-1920 - South Carolina, State and Territorial Censuses, 1829-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Spartanburg County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1820 Manufactures[edit | edit source]
- National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. Includes this county.
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners[edit | edit source]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital versions at Google Books. See South Carolina, Spartanburgh [Spartanburg] District on page 143.
1850[edit | edit source]
- Gilbert, Horace Elbert and Rodney Dusterhoft. An Enhanced 1850 Census, Spartanburg District, South Carolina. Spartanburg, S.C.: Pinckney District Chapter, SCGS, 1994. FHL Collection 975.729 X2g 1850
1860[edit | edit source]
- Emory, Mary Mills and Lorene Burton Ambrose. 1860 Census, Spartanburg County, South Carolina, Vol. 1. FHL Collection 975.729 X2p 1860 v. 1
Church[edit | edit source]
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Spartanburg 1st
- Spartanburg 2nd
- Spartanburg 3rd (Spanish)
- Boiling Springs Ward
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Spartanburg County has court records from 1785 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Spartanburg County was a part of the Ninety-Six District from 1785 - 1791 and the Pinckney District from 1791 - 1800. The records of the Ninety-Six District courts are housed in Abbeville County with the Clerk of Court. The records of the Pinckney District courts are housed with the York County Clerk of Court.
Racine, Philip N. "The Spartanburg District Magistrates and Freeholders Court, 1824-1865," The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 87, No. 4 (Oct., 1986), pp. 197-212. Digital version at JSTOR($).
DNA[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
- [Adcock] Adcock, Deverle Carol Turner and Jimmie Wallis Adcock. Adcock Family and Allied Families. [Austin, Texas: n.p.], 1979. FHL Collection 929.273 Ad19ad
- [Anderson] Anderson, Edward Lee. A History of the Anderson Family 1706-1955, Through the Descendants of James Mason Anderson and His Wife Mary "Polly" Miller. Columbia, S.C.: R.L. Bryan Co., . FHL Collection 896816 Item 2
- [Barnett] Jackson, Mary Brannon. Our Barnett Family, 1700-1978. n.p.: M.B. Jackson, 1978. FHL Collection 929.273 A1 no. 2791
- [Barrett] Chamlee, Lelia Anne Barrett. Recollections...Barrett-Andrews and Related Families. Milledgeville, Ga.: L.A.B. Chamlee, 1996. FHL Collection 929.273 B275ch
- [Bennett] Balis, Leila Smith. More About Our Bennett Family: of Granville Co./Bute Co./Warren Co., NC; Spartanburg Co., SC; Greene Co., IN; Twin Falls Co., ID. Murray, Utah: L.S. Balis, 2001. FHL 929.273 B439bLs
- [Brice] Lacey, Howard Elton and Deborah Ruth Carter Harry. Brice Roots in Spartanburg, South Carolina. 2000. FHL 929.273 B761L
- [Brown] Brown, Richard L. and Robert E. Brown. A Brown Family of Spartanburg and Greenville Counties, South Carolina. Maplewood, N.J.: R.L. & R.E. Brown, 1963. FHL 1454551 Item 5
- [Bryant] Pope, Jennings Bland. The Bryants of Spartanburg: Beginning with William Briant (c.1741 VA - c.1834 SC). Austin, Texas: J.B. Pope, 1980. FHL Collection 929.273 B841p
- [Byars] Franke, William Frederick. Affidavit of William Frederick Franke Sr., 1749-1960, in Re[gard to] Descendants of Nathan Byars, Revolutionary Soldier, 1749-1846. Typescript, 1960. FHL Collection 928041 Item 6
- [Byars] Tucker, Marjorie Stewart. Marjorie Stewart Tucker Genealogical Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 2006. FHL Collection; digital version at Family History Archives.
- [Cantrell] Gabbitas, Corinne Law. The Cantrell - Cantrill Genealogy, Peter and Sarah Descendents a Record of the Descendents of Richard Cantrill, Who was a Resident of Philadelphia Prior to 1689, and of Earlier Cantrills in England and America: A Record of the Descendents of Isaac Cantrell, Who was a Resident of Spartanburg, South Carolina. Orem, Utah: C.L. Gabbitas, 1982?. FHL Collection 1206432 Item 16
- [Cartee] Cartee, Bobby Gene. Cartee Family History and Related Families. Spartanburg, S.C.: B.G. Cartee, 1987. FHL Collection 929.273 C243c
- [Casey] Casey, Alvin Harold and Robert Brooks Casey. Casey Family History. Stillwater, Okla.: A.H. Casey, 1980. FHL Collection 929.273 C268ca
- [Chapman] Nichols, William A. Descendants of Julius Nichols. Pedigree Chart, 1992. Microfilmed. FHL Collection 1697786 Item 13
- [Church] Daniels, Jeanette K.B. Church and Allied Families. Vidor, Texas: W. Hayes, 1992. FHL Collection 929.273 C473d
- [Collins] "Captain John Collins," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 37, No. 3 (Summer 2009):141-142. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 37 [Reprint of "Nazareth and Cowpens," in Southern Presbyterian, Issue dated 2 June 1881, page 3.]
- [DeLong] Baldwin, John D. "Descendants of James DeLong born 1755-1760 of Spartanburg County, South Carolina," in DeLong Genealogy. MSS., Cleveland Ohio Family History Center. Microfilmed 2005. FHL Collection VAULT 1542450 Item 2
- [Earle] Clark, Agnes Nesbitt. The Earle Family of South Carolina. FHL Collection 929.273 A1 no. 237
- [Embry] Nichols, Eula May Hembree. Descendants of Joel Hembree. Homewood, Ill.: E. H. Nichols, 1988. FHL Collection 929.273 H371n; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- [Erwin] Knisely, Mary Jane. John Armstrong Erwin and Alice Brandon of North Carolina. Orlando, Fla.: M.H. Knisely, [197-?]. FHL Collection 929.273 A1 no. 3450.
- [Foster] Foster, T.D. History of the Fosters of Spartanburg County, South Carolina and Amelia Court House, Virginia. MSS., microfilmed 1973. FHL 924461 Item 2
- [Foster] Pennell, Ira W. Ridley - Foster: Virginia, South Carolina. Typescript. Microfilmed 1981. FHL Collection 1033690 Item 4
- [Gaston] Gee, Mary Gaston. The Ancestry and Descendants of Amzi Williford Gaston II (1841-1911) of Spartanburg County, South Carolina. Charlottesville, Va.: M.G. Gee, 1944. FHL 929.273 G219g
- [Goodlett] Goodlett, Mildred W. Links in the Goodlett Chain. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1965. FHL Collection 929.273 G619gm; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- [Gossett] Gossett, Jeffrey. The Gossetts of South Carolina. Rock Hill, S.C.: J.L. Gossett, 1997. FHL Collection 929.273 G696g
- [Graham] Graham, Bobby Don. Descendants of John Levi Graham, Jr. Los Angeles, Calif.: B.D. Graham, 1962? FHL Collection 1031249 Item 11
- [Graham] Graham, Bobby Don. Graham Family. Buena Park, Calif.: B.D. Graham, 1962? FHL Collection 1421647 Item 8
- [Grant] Grant, Bishop Franklin (Mrs.). Grant Family of South Carolina. Typescript. FHL Collection 219477 Item 4
- [Hanna] Hanna, Frank A. The Hanna Family of Enoree River. Durham, N.C.: Hanna, 1969. FHL Collection 1011935 Item 8
- [Harris] Harris, David Golightly, Philip N. Racine, and Emily Liles Harris. Piedmont Farmer, the Journals of David Golightly Harris, 1855-1870. Knoxville, Tenn.: University of Tenn. Press, 1990. FHL Collection 975.729 D3p
- [Hembree] See Embry.
- [Henderson] Henderson, Wallace Bozeman and Evelyn Kathleen Berry Henderson. Research on the Following Families: Peter Hendersen, Bunyon Henderson, William Andrew Henderson, John Henderson, Alexander "Sandy" Henderson. Spartanburg, S.C.: W.B. Henderson, 1988. FHL Collection 929.273 H383hb
- [Holt] Holt, Lessie Davis. Charles Holt, American Revolutionary War Veteran - Charles Holt & Descendants, 1762-1980. Blountsville, Ala.: L.D. Holt, 1981. FHL Collection 929.273 H742h
- [Huey] "Some Notes on the Huey Family," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 20, No. 1 (Winter 1992):22-26. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 20
- [Huntley] Galloway, Robert Maxton. Autobiography. Columbia, S.C.: R.M. Galloway, 1998. FHL Collection 921.73 G138a
- [Jackson] Holcomb, Brent H. Jackson of North Pacolet: Descendants of Samuel Jackson, Sr. (Died 1796, Spartanburg County, South Carolina). Columbia, S.C.: B.H. Holcomb, 1991. FHL 929.273 J132hb
- [Jones] Holcombe, William J. Our Jones-Parker Family: Keeping Up with the Joneses. [Columbia, S.C.: W.J. Holcombe, 199-?.] FHL Collection 929.273 J71hwj
- [Jones] Jones, Ransom Lanier. Descendants of John Jones Born about 1750 and Died in Early 1818 in Spartanburg County, South Carolina. Fernandina Beach, Fla.: R.L. Jones, 2000. FHL 929.273 J718jrL
- Kilpatrick Author Unknown, "Alexander Kilpatrick of South Carolina and His Descendants". p. 124, Historical Southern Families Volume XXII
- [Lancaster] Lancaster, Osborne Byron. Ancestors and Descendants of Edgar Bernard Lancaster and Mattie Lee Hines Lancaster, 1770-1962. n.p.: O.B. Lancaster, 1962. FHL Collection 929.273 L221Lo
- [Land] Walker, Robert B. Our Family Genealogy. MSS. Microfilmed 1960. FHL Collection 209590 Item 4
- [Leatherwood] Wheeler, Phillip Glenn. The Descendants of Thomas and Mary (Lanford) Leatherwood. Fontana, Calif.: P.G. Wheeler, 1995. FHL Collection 929.273 L484w
- [Lee] Jay, Margaret Beheler. John Watts Lee, Sr. Family, of Spartanburg County, South Carolina. Shelby, N.C.: Broad River Genealogical Society, 1999. FHL 929.273 L51j
- [Leslie] Leslie, Reuben Lloyd. Notes on the Ancestry of William Samuel Leslie and Margaret Gertrude Ramage. Typescript, Clayton Library, Houston, Texas. Microfilmed 1982. FHL Collection 1317274 Item 14
- [McBee] McBee, Vardry. Portraiture of Vardry McBee of South Carolina Born in Spartanburg District, 19 June 1775; Died in Greenville, 23 January 1864. 1852. FHL Collection 6104945
- [McElreath] McElreath, Walter. My Folks. Atlanta, Ga.: J.T. Hancock, 1941. FHL Collection 929.273 M154mw
- [McMakin] McMakin, Dean. McMakin and McMeekin: Some Descendants of Alexander McMakin of Loudoun County, Virginia; Includes the Surnames: Briggs, Campbell, Hays, Henson, Hinkle, Howard, Leachman, Litsey, McMeekin, Miller, Sudduth, Wheeler. St. Charles, Ill.: D. McMakin, [199-?]. FHL Collection 929.273 M227mk
- [Martin] Harvey, Judy L. and Marie R. Davis. The Family of John Martin and Margaret Faris of Spartenburg County, South Carolina. Portland, Ore.: M.R. Davis, 1982. FHL Collection 929.273 M364d
- [Newman] Newman, William Alton. Newman--Hildreth Family, ca. 1780-1971. Typescript, microfilmed 1990. FHL Collection 1320972 Item 25
- [Newman] Newman, William Alton and James Wilson Newman. The Newman Family: Descendants of Davis and Nancy Newman, 1780, Spartanburg County District, South Carolina. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1992. FHL 929.273 N463n
- [Page] Page, Donald W. The History and Genealogy of the Robert and Rachel Page Family from Goochland County, Virginia and Spartanburg County, South Carolina. 2 vols. Franklin, N.C.: Genealogy Pub. Service, 1992-2002. FHL 929.273 P145p
- [Peden] Hewell, Eleanor M. The Pedens of America. Free Lookups Available!
- [Pruitt] Prewitt, Richard A. Prewitt-Pruitt Records of South Carolina. Grimes, Iowa: R.A. Prewitt, 1981. FHL Collection 1033812 Item 5
- [Rainey] Rainey, Ralph E. Wallace A. Rainey and Jessie I. Ringer, Their Ancestors, Descendants and Allied Families. Carlyle, Ill.: R.E. Rainey, 1985. FHL Collection 929.273 R135rr
- [Rodgers] Andrea, Leonardo. Rodgers--Roger--Rogers. Typescript, Polk County Historical Library, Bartow, Fla. Microfilmed 1975. FHL Collection 978080 Item 2
- [Rogers] Rogers, Virgil Madison. Rogers--McCravy--Lanham Family History: With Allied and Descendant Families. Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1975. FHL Collection 1454581 Item 6
- [Sloan] Jones, Phillip Barron and Eva McCranie Jones. Sloan and Related Families: Descendants of George Thomas Sloan (1756-1836) of County Cork, Ireland, and Spartanburg and Laurens Counties, South Carolina. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 2007. FHL 929.273 SL52jp
- [Smith] Smith, Josiah B., Elizabeth Smith, and D.A.R. Katharine Livingston Chapter. Genealogy of William Smith of Wrightstown, Bucks County, Pennsylvania, 1684 [Published at] Newtown, Pa., 1883. Transcript, National Library, D.A.R. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Collection 875380 Item 8
- [Stone] Willett, Jean. Twenty-three Years of Research. MSS. 198-?. FHL Collection 929.273 M612wj
- [Suddath] Paget, James Suddath. Ancestors and Descendants of Hancock D. Suddath and Jemima Whaley Etheredge. Franklin, N.C.: Genealogy Pub. Service, 1996. FHL Collection 929.273 Su21p
- [Templeman] Templeman, Billy Gerald. Family History of the Templemans, Mobleys & Kin. Terrell, Texas: B.G. Templeman, 1976? FHL Collection 929.273 T248t
- [Thomas] Bushnell, George Elmore. A Chart of the Descendants of Colonel John Thomas and Jane Black of Spartanburg, S.C. MSS., South Carolina Historical Society, Charleston. Microfilmed 1952. FHL 22796 Item 12
- [Thomas] Moore, Elvin M. The James Madison Thomas Story: With Sketches of the Tolleson and Webber (Weber) Families. Greenville, S.C.: E.M. Moore, Jr., 1984. FHL Collection 929.273 T364m
- [Thompson] Carpenter, Terry L. Thompson Kith and Kin: A Southern Highlander Family. New York, N.Y.: T. Carpenter, 1991. FHL Collection 929.273 T371ctL
- [Thornton] Crowley, Ariel L. The Ancestry of Jane Thornton of Spartanburg, South Carolina, Wife of Arthur Hutchens of Albemarle Parish, Virginia, and Ancestress of Clarence Edmund Cowley. Idaho City, Idaho: A.L. Crowley, 1969. FHL 929.273 T395c
- [Turner] Fitts, Ruth Turner. Turner, Georgia, South Carolina. Newnan, Ga.: R. T. Fitts, 1982? FHL Collection 929.273 T851f
- [Turner] Lennon, Rachal Mills. "Jonathan Turner-More than a Name: A Carolina Case Study in Dissecting Records," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 97, No. 1 (Mar. 2009):17-28. FHL 973 B2ng v. 97
- [Vandiver] Vandiver, Rubie. History of B.P. Vandiver and Family. Fitzgerald, Ga.: Du-Mar Binderers & Printing Corporation], 1970. FHL Collection 1429814 Item 1
- [Walker] Walker, Robert B. Our Family Genealogy. MSS. Microfilmed 1960. FHL Collection 209590 Item 4
- [Wall] Wall, Marcus H. Your Wall Family. n.p.: M.H. Wall, 1973. FHL Collection 929.273 W154wmh
- [Westmoreland] Foster, Lucia. Westmoreland Ancestry: 1980 Update. Cove, Ark.: L. Foster, 1980. FHL Collection 929.273 W528f
- [Wilbanks] Rex, Joyce A. William Henry Wilbanks (1810-1902), His Ancestors, Life and Children: South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Tennessee, Arkansas, Texas, and Oklahoma. Purcell, Okla.: J.A. Rex, 1996. FHL Collection 929.273 W641r
- [Williams] Beam - Duckworth - Langston - Williams Families. MSS., Pinkneyville, Ill. Microfilmed 1975. FHL Collection 975738 Item 8
- [Williams] Williams, Johnny Lee and Wiley Edward Williams. Descendants of Edward Williams of Spartanburg Co., S.C., 1790-1964. Typescript. FHL 1035708 Item 26
- [Williams] Williams: Family Bible Records, 1793-1920, Together with Transcripts. MSS. Microfilmed 1984. FHL Collection 1206451 Item 6
- [Williams] Williams, Johnny Lee. Descendants of Edward Williams, Sr. of Spartanburg County, South Carolina (now Cherokee County, South Carolina). Attalla, Ala.: J.L. Williams, 2000. FHL 929.273 W67wjo
- [Willis] Willis, J. Ernest. The House of Daniel Willis. Travelers Rest, S.C.: Stephen A. Loftis Printing Co., 1968. FHL Collection 929.273 W679wj
- [Wofford] Wait, Jane Wofford, John W. Wofford and Carrie Wofford Floyd. History of the Wofford Family: Direct Descendants of Captain Joseph Wofford. Spartanburg, S.C.: n.p., 1928. 1993 reprint: FHL Collection 929.273 W822wj
- [Wood] Wood, Christine Knox and James Moses Wood. Wood Works Documented More Than 1100 Descendants of William Wood, Whose Will in Spartanburg District, S.C. was Dated 22 January 1787: As Many As Ten Generations To Date. 3 vols. Lubbock, Texas: J.M. Hood, 1971-1978. FHL 929.273 W85wc
- Gilbert, Horace Elbert and Rodney Dusterhoft. An Enhanced 1850 Census, Spartanburg District, South Carolina. Spartanburg, S.C.: Pinckney District Chapter, SCGS, 1994. FHL Collection 975.729 X2g 1850 [Enhancements (additions) where known include: full names, birth and death dates, maiden names, names of future spouses, identification of some Civil War veterans, and burial locations.]
- Old Spartanburg District Genealogy. Spartanburg, S.C.: Gainey Research Services, 1986-1989. FHL 975.729 B2o v. 1
Immigration[edit | edit source]
- Howe, George. The Scotch-Irish and Their First Settlements on the Tyger River and Other Neighboring Precincts in South Carolina a Centennial Discourse, Delivered at Nazareth Church, Spartanburg District, S.C., September 14, 1861. 1861; reprint, Greenville, S.C.: A Press, 1981. FHL 975.7 A1 no. 87
Early migration routes to and from Spartanburg County for European settlers included:
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information abou types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.
Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records for Spartanburg County:
|1791-1800||Spartanburg County in Pinkney District|
|1785-1791||Spartanburg County (old) in Ninety-Six District|
|1710-1719||Proprietary Land Grants|
* Some early records may be found in North Carolina counties Anson, Mecklenburg, or Tryon
Orignial deed books are located at the Spartanburg County Courthouse.
Abstracted deeds in Spartanburg County/District, South Carolina, deed abstracts, books A-T, 1785-1827 (1752-1827), A.B. Pruitt FHL Book 975.7 R28p
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
- Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- History of Spartanburg County. Spartanburg, S.C.?: Band & White, 1940. Digital version at Ancestry($).
- Landrum, J.B.O. Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper South Carolina, Embracing for the Most Part the Primitive and Colonial History of the Territory Comprising the Original County of Spartanburg with a General Review of the Entire Military Operations in the Upper Portion of South Carolina and Portions of North Carolina. Greenville, S.C.: Shannon & Co., Printers and Binders, 1897. Digital version at Google Books.
- Landrum, J.B.O. History of Spartanburg County: Embracing an Account of Many Important Events and Biographical Sketches of Statesmen, Divines and Other Public Men, and the Names of Many Others Worthy of Record in the History of Their County. Atlanta, Ga.: Franklin Printing, 1900. FHL 975.729 H2L; FHL 975.729 H2L index; digital versions at Internet Archive; World Vital Records($); another World Vital Records($) version.
- Spartanburg City and Spartanburg County, South Carolina, 1903. 1903. Digital version at Internet Archive.
- Waldrep, G.C. Southern Workers and the Search for Community: Spartanburg County, South Carolina. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2000.
- By John Hennen in The American Historical Review, Vol. 106, No. 4 (Oct. 2001):1397-1398. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- By Annette C. Wright in The Journal of American History, Vol. 88, No. 4 (Mar. 2002):1580-1581. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- By R. Phillip Stone II in The Journal of Southern History, Vol. 68, No. 3 (Aug. 2002):738-379. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- Harris, David Golightly. Piedmont Farmer, The Journals of David Golightly Harris, 1855-1870. (Knoxville, Tennessee : University of Tenn. Press, c1990. 597 pages. David Harris, the owner of 10 slaves records life on his farm, in his neighborhood, and the society of Piedmont. Book found at FHL 975.729 D3p and Other Libraries.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]Spartanburg County, South Carolina Military identifies various military records and histories.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Civil War service men from Spartanburg County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regimens that were formed of many men from Spartanburg County:
- - 1st Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- - 1st Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company A, Company C, and Company D
- - 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company A (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers) and Company C - (also known as the Charleston Sharpshooters and Palmetto Guards)
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company A (also known as Calhoun's Battery; Sumter Light Artillery, Sumter Battery, Preston's Battery, Blake's Battery and other name variations), Company C, and Company K
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company A (also called Company B and Beauregard Artillery)
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Hagood's), 2nd Company H (also known as Winsmith Guards)
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company A
- -2nd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company C (also known as the Spartan Rangers, the Spartanburg Rangers and the Spartan Rangers Independent Cavalry Reserves)
- - 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A (also known as the Boykin Mounted Rangers and Hampton Scouts), Company E (also known as Dean's Cavalry), and Company F (also known as the Easley's Cavalry)
- - 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Rifles, Company L
- - 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C (also known as Captain Dean's Company)
- - 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A, Company B, Company D, Company G, and Company K
- - 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troop Junior Reserves, Company A, Company E, and Company I
- - 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's), Company K
- - 7th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63), Company A, Company H, and Company L
- - 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company C and Company F
- -9th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves , Company I
- - 9th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C
- - 13th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A, Company B, Company C, Company E, Company F, and Company I
- - 16th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Greenville Regiment), Company G
- - 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A, Company C, and Company E
- - 18th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C, Company E, Company F, Company G, and Company K
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History. Confederate Pension Records, 1889,1896, 1916-1935 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1954, 1971). 6 FHL Microfilms Pension applications, A-I (veterans), 1919-1920's. Pension applications, J-Z (veterans), 1919-1920's. Pension applications, A-N, (widows), 1919-1920's Pension application, O-Z (widows), 1919-1920's Pension record, 1889, 1896, 1916-1919. Pension rolls,(widows), 1920-1935 (includes some applications). Microfilm copies at FHL 24505
- Harris, David Golightly. Piedmont Farmer, The Journals of David Golightly Harris, 1855-1870. (Knoxville, Tennessee : University of Tenn. Press, c1990), 597 pages. David Harris, the owner of 10 slaves records life on his farm, in his neighborhood, and the society of Piedmont. Civil War pages 171-356. Book found at FHL 975.729 D3p and Other Libraries.
- Gorski, Eddie L. Civil War abstracts from the Gaffney ledger: from the local newspaper. (Gaffney, South Carolina : E.L. Gorski, c1989-c1991). 2 volumes. These abstraction also contain some of those who were living in near by counties such as Union, York and Spartanburg"--Vol. 1, pref., 1st prelim. p. Names are in alphabetical order by surname. Vol. 2 includes information from the Union Times. Books found at FHL 975.742/G1 M2g
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Spartanburg County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Black Star (Columbia, S.C.) 1977-current.
- Chesnee Tribune (Chesnee, S.C.) 1971-current.
- Cowpens-Pacolet Tribune (Cowpens, S.C.) 1971-current.
- Herald-Journal (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1989-current.
- Spartanburg Herald-Journal (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1982-1989.
- Spartanburg Journal (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1900-1906.
- Spartanburg Tribune (Chesnee, S.C.) 1969-current.
- Star Tribune (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1980-1992.
- The Carolina Citizen (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1922-1924.
- The Carolina Spartan (Spartanburg, S.C.) 185?-189?.
- The Carolina Spartan (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1???-1913.
- The Church Herald (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1881-1884.
- The Clifton Chronicle (Converse, S.C.) 1908-1931.
- The Daily Herald (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1890-1982.
- The Evening Star (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1898-1900.
- The Free Lance (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1899-1919.
- The Inman Times (Inman, S.C.) 1920-current.
- The Journal (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1906-1913.
- The Journal and the Carolina Spartan (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1913-1920.
- The Landrum Leader (Landrum, S.C.) 1955-1974.
- The News Leader (Landrum, S.C.) 1974-current.
- The News Review (Una, S.C.) 1929-1971.
- The Orphans' Friend (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1873-1875.
- The Paper (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1984-current.
- The Piedmont Headlight (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1892-1905.
- The Spartan (Camp Croft [Spartanburg], S.C.) 1944-19??.
- The Spartan (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1843-185?.
- The Spartan (Spartanburg, S.C.) 189?-1???.
- The Spartanburg Express (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1854-1866.
- The Spartanburg Gazette (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1869-1870.
- The Spartanburg Herald (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1875-1920.
- The Spartanburg Journal and the Carolina Spartan (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1920-1982.
- The Spartanburg Republican (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1870-1871.
- The Sun and the Carolina Citizen (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1924-1925.
- The Woodruff News (Woodruff, S.C.) 1916-1928.
- The Woodruff News (Woodruff, S.C.) 1950-current.
- Herald-Journal (Spartanburg, S.C.) Online edition.
- Spartanburg County and Spartanburg, SC Obituaries
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Spartanburg County Public Librariy has Indexes to various newspaper obituaries as well as a miscellaneous death index. The obituaries and index covers various years ranging from 1844 to 2009 with gaps in all of the databases.
- Spartanburg Herald and Herald-Journal: 1920, 1922, 1930-2011
- Spartanburgh Herald + Spartanburgh Journal or the Spartanburg Weekly Herald: 1902-1919
- Carolina Spartan / Spartanburg Herald Death Index: 1849-1893
- Register of Deaths of Spartanburg: 1 Oct 1895-21 Oct 1897 and 3 Aug 1903-31 Dec 1915
- Miscellaneous Death Index: 1844 - early 1900s
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
- Pinckney District Chapter Quarterly
- Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History
- Old Spartanburg District Genealogy FHL Collection
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.” Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available.
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Spartanburg County wills. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
Probate records for Spartanburg County are found in the court of ordinary, the probate court, and the court of equity. Some estate records and indexes also available on microfilm, including the following:
- Index to Estate Papers, 1787-1971. FHL Film 1022762
- Index to Real Estate Papers, 1825-1971. FHL Film 1022781
- Brent H. Holcomb, comp. Spartanburg County, South Carolina will abstracts, 1787- 1840. Columbia, South Carolina: B.H. Holcomb, c1983. FHL Book 975.729 P2h
- Spartanburg Wills 1787-1816 (transcripts). See names of testators. South Carolina Pioneers
- Index to Will Bk A, 1787-1820; Bk B, 1821-1830, Bk C, 1830-1835 South Carolina Pioneers
- Spartanburg Wills courtesy of USGenWeb Archives.
Online Probate Records
- 1670-1980 - South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1671-1977 - South Carolina Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — images
- 1732-1964 - South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — images
- 1782-1866 - South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at findmypast — $, index
Schools[edit | edit source]
- First Annual Catalogue of the Instructors and Pupils in the Limestone Springs Female High School, Spartanburg, S.C., August, 1846. New York: Leavitt, Trow & Company, 1846. Digital version at Internet Archive.
- Catalogue of the Instructors and Pupils in the Limestone Springs Female High School, Spartanburg, S.C., 1855. Charleston, S.C.: James and Williams, 1855. Digital version at Internet Archive.
- Catalogue of the Instructors and Pupils in the Limestone Springs Female High School, Spartanburg, S.C., 1856. Columbia, S.C.: Steam Power-Press of R.W. Gibbes, 1856. Digital version at Internet Archive.
- Catalogue of the Instructors and Pupils in the Limestone Springs Female High School, Spartanburg, S.C., 1857. Columbia, S.C.: Steam-Power Press of R.W. Gibbes, 1857. Digital version at Internet Archive.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Spartanburg County.
Published abstracts[edit | edit source]
- 1788 - Iron Works of Spartanburg Sheriff's Sale 2nd Notice, July 14, 1788, Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Aug. 2005).
- 1844 - Tax Return, 1844, Spartanburg Dist., W, Pinckney District Chapter Quarterly, Vol.16, No. 1 (Spring 1992).
- Freedmen Tax List, Pinckney District Chapter Quarterly, Vol. 32, No. 3 (Sep. 2008).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Birth records do not begin in Spartanburg until 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Spartanburg County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1766-1900 - South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
In South Carolina, marriage records were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
The Spartanburg County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.
Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.
Marriages and Marriage Substitutes - Indexes
- 1785-1911 - Spartanburg County Marriages, 1785-1911 Implied in Spartanburg County, South Carolina Probate Records by Barbara R. Langdon  FHL Collection WorldCat - abstracts
- 1866-1869 - Marriages from the Carolina Spartan Newspapers, 1866-1869 by Faye Berry Emory  FHL Collection WorldCat - abstracts
- 1911 to 1950s - Spartanburg County Marriage Records by the Spartanburg County, SC USGenweb page - index, incomplete
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death[edit | edit source]
The town of Spartanburg began recording deaths in 1895. These records can be obtained from the South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Spartanburg County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths and Death Substitutes - Indexes and Records
- 1800-1900- CSI: Dixie collects 1583 coroners reports from six South Carolina counties for the years 1800-1900.
- 1816-1990 - South Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1816-1990 at FamilySearch — index
- 1849-Present - Obituary Online Index by the Spartanburg County Public Library - index, INCOMPLETE between 1916 to1930s
- 1895-1897; 1903-1914 - South Carolina Death Records, 1821-1955  Available at Ancestry ($) - index and records, includes Spartanburg City death records;
- 1915-1965 - South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums[edit | edit source]
Digital items: The Spartanburg County Public Libraries Digitization Program creates digital collections of local history materials from the Kennedy Room of Local and South Carolina History and Cleveland Genealogical Department and makes them available online
151 South Church Street
Spartanburg, SC 29306
Hours: Sunday 1:30 PM -6:00 PM; Monday Friday 9:00 AM -9:00 PM; Saturday 9:00 AM -6:00 PM
The Kennedy Room of Local and South Carolina History and Cleveland Genealogy Department on the top floor of the headquarters Library houses an extensive collection of source material for genealogy and history researchers. In addition to books, types of materials in our collection include microform, maps, media clippings, manuscripts, visual arts and access to several online genealogy databases. The materials’ focus is on Spartanburg County but also includes South Carolina and regional information.
The best way to access this material is through personal visits and by viewing our online information. We offer limited assistance to long-distance researchers through email, postal mail or telephone.
Boiling Springs Library
871 Double Bridge Road
Boiling Springs, SC29316
Hours: Sun. 1:30 PM -6 PM; Mon., Tues. & Thurs. 10 AM -8 PM; Wed., Fri. & Sat. 10 AM -6 PM
100 Pickens Avenue
Chesnee, SC 29323
Hours: Sun. CLOSED; Mon., Tues. & Thurs. 10 AM -8 PM; Wed. & Fri. 10 AM -6 PM; Sat. 10 AM -4 PM
181 School Street
Cowpens, SC 29330
Hours: Sun. CLOSED; Mon. & Tues. 10 AM -8 PM; Wed., Thurs. & Fri. 10 AM -6 PM; Sat. 10 AM -4 PM
H. Carlisle Bean Law Library
180 Magnolia Street, 3rd floor
Spartanburg, SC 29306
Hours: Sun. CLOSED; Mon. - Fri. 8:30 AM -12:15 PM & 1:15 PM -5 PM; Sat. CLOSED
50 Mill Street
Inman, SC 29349
Hours: Sun. CLOSED; Mon., Tues. & Thurs. 10 AM -8 PM; Wed. & Fri. 10 AM -6 PM; Sat. 10 AM -4 PM
111 East Asbury Drive
Landrum, SC 29356
Hours: Sun. CLOSED; Mon., Tues. & Thurs. 9 AM -8 PM; Wed. & Fri. 9 AM -6 PM; Sat. 9 AM -2 PM
Middle Tyger Library
170 Groce Road
Lyman, SC 29365
Hours: Sun. 1:30 PM -6 PM; Mon., Tues. & Thurs. 10 AM -8 PM; Wed, Fri. & Sat. 10 AM -6 PM
390 West Main Street
Pacolet, SC 29372
Hours: Sun. CLOSED; Mon. & Tues. 10 AM -8 PM; Wed., Thurs. & Fri. 10 AM -6 PM; Sat. 12 noon-4 PM
Cyrill Westside Library
525 Oak Grove Road
Spartanburg, SC 29301
Hours: Sun. 1:30 PM -6 PM; Mon.-Thurs. 9 AM -9 PM; Fri. 9 AM -6 PM; Sat. 10 AM -6 PM
270 East Hayne Street
Woodruff, SC 29388
Hours: Sun. CLOSED; Mon., Tues. & Thurs. 10 AM -8 PM; Wed. 10 AM -6 PM; Fri. 12 noon-6 PM; Sat. 10 AM -4 PM
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- Spartanburg South Carolina Family History Center
Spartanburg South Carolina
121 Quail Dr
Spartanburg, Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Hours: Tues 9:00-5:00; Wed 6:30-8:30; Thurs 6:30-8:30; Fri 10-2
Closed: Week of Thanksgiving, and last two (2) weeks of December
Attention: Additional hours opened by appointment. Contact Tracy Terry 864-580-8731
Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage [edit | edit source]
Pinckney District Chapter SCGS
P.O. Box 5281
Spartanburg SC 29304-5281
Spartanburg Historical Association
501 Otis Blvd.
Spartanburg SC 29306
source: Society Hill
Piedmont Historical Society
P.O. Box 8096
Sparanburg SC 29305-8096
source: Society Hill
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Spartanburg County, SC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Spartanburg County, SCGenWeb
- Spartanburg County, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Spartanburg County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- South Carolina Pioneers
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Spartanburg, South Carolina," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spartanburg_County,_South_Carolina. accessed 15/07/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Spartanburg County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
- "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
- "A History of Spartanburg County, South Carolina" in South Carolina - The Counties at Carolana.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883), 188. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Spartanburg County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spartanburg_County%2C_South_Carolina, accessed 29 December 2019.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
- Langdon, Barbara R. Spartanburg County Marriages, 1785-1911 Implied in Spartanburg County, South Carolina Probate Records. [S.l. : s.n.], c1992.
- Emory, Faye Berry, Marriages from the Carolina Spartan Newspapers, 1866-1869, Spartanburg, SC: Piedmont Historical Society, c1983.
- Ancestry.com. South Carolina Death Records, 1821-1955 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2008. Original data: South Carolina. South Carolina death records. Columbia, SC, USA: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.