Sowerby St George, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Sowerby St George, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Sowerby St George, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Halifax|
|Parish registers: 1840|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1848|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SOWERBY, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Halifax, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 4 miles (W. S. W.) from Halifax. In 1840 a district church dedicated to St. George was erected. Sowerby St George is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1842 from Halifax [St John the Baptist] Ancient Parish; located on Quarry Hill.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from parish registers of Sowerby St. George exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|SOWERBY ST. GEORGE PARISH Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Sowerby St. George to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Sowerby St. George page.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 152-156. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.