To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Southwark St Saviour, Surrey Genealogy, England

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Southwark St Saviour, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Southwark St Saviour, Surrey , England
Southwark St Savior's Cathedral.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Southwark
County Surrey
Poor Law Union St Savior's
Registration District St Saviour Southwark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1745
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Southwark, parlimentary borough, Surrey, on river Thames, opposite London city.[1]

Borough Of Southwark. (In the Diocese of Winchester).[2]

Additional information:

Southwark.—See London.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Southwark St Saviour parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Surrey Parish Registers, 1536-1992 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Surrey Baptisms and Marriages (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = Surrey, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Surrey, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Southwark St Saviour Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1536-1992
1536-1992
1536-1992
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1918
1538-1841


ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1912
1754-1933
1813-1987
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1536-1865
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Surrey History Centre.

  • 1605-1625 - Greenstreet, James. "Marriages at St. Saviour's, Southwark, from A.D. 1605 to A.D. 1625," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record,
  • 1611-1613: Vol. 27, No. 1 (Jan. 1896):47-49;
  • 1613-1614: Vol. 29, No. 3 (Jul. 1898):171-173. Digital version at New York Family History (£);
  • FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 27, 29. Internet Archive has digitized Vol. 27 and Vol. 29 - free.
  • St Saviour Workhouse Baptisms 1848-1875 C058411
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Southwark was comprised of, as of the year 1870, three registration districts ('St Saviour, St Olave, and St George).

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Sacramental token books act as an annual census substitute for the years 1571 to 1643. They have been digitized and indexed. Here is the project website.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Southwark Cathedral database at Find A Grave. (47+ entries)

Parish History[edit | edit source]

'SOUTHWARK St Saviour Cathedral is an ancient parish and has registers commencing from the year 1538, is the principal church of these five ancient parishes in this metropolitan borough. The borough lies on the south side of the River Thames, opposite the City of London; attached with the city by the London, Southwark, and Blackfriars bridges;

'The five ancient parishes of Southwark include  St Saviour, St Olave, St George the Martyr , Christ Church, and St Thomas.

The ecclesiastical arrangement for Southwark included also the following chapelries:

  • All Hallow, Copperfield St - 1875
  • St Alphege - 1872
  • St Jude - 1850
  • St Mary Magdalen - 1843
  • St Michael - 1867
  • St Paul Westminster Road.- 1858
  • St Peter - 1846
  • St Stephen - 1850
  • St Thomas Hospital Chapel - 1690
  • Wilberforce Mission Church -

The places of worship within the new borough, included the parish incumbencies of Horsley-Down, Bermondsey, and Rotherhithe.

Also included in the borough were the following Nonconformist churches: 

  • English Presbyterian Church - 1
  • Independents - 1
  • Baptists - 15
  • Quakers - 1
  • Unitarians - 1 
  • Wesleyan Methodists - 7
  • Primitive Methodists - 1
  • Wesleyan Association - 3
  • Wesleyan Reformers - 1
  • Welsh Calvinistic Methodists - 1
  • Roman Catholics -3 

There were four additional unspecified dissenting chapels in the borough as well.[4]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. London Eccesiastical jurisdiction. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  4. John Marius Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870)

FamilySearch