To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Southsea St Jude, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Southsea St Jude, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Southsea St Jude, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Southsea St Jude, Hampshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Portsmouth Borough
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Portsea Island
Registration District Portsea Island
Records begin
Parish registers: 1851
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Droxford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SOUTHSEA also known as St. Jude; a suburb and four chapelries in Portsea parish, Hants. The suburb lies on the SE side of Portsmouth, on the coast, opposite Spithead.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Southsea St Jude parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Hampshire Parish Registers, 1538-1980 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Hampshire Bishop's Transcripts 1680-1892 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Hampshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Hampshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
ANC = Hampshire, England, Allegations for Marriage Licences, 1689-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Southsea St Jude Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1980
1538-1980
1538-1980
FS BTs 1680-1892
1680-1892
1680-1892
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FMP 1752-1851
1754-1837
1400-1850
TGEN 1537-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
ANC

1689-1837


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Hampshire Archives and Local Studies.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Russell, Carol. What's In A Name.  Photo taken in 1903 of wedding, persons all named, History of the family of Merritt, Strugnell, Bevans, Sparrow, and Olden. Article covers years 1877-1888 and is found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 17, no. 1, May 1990, pages  24-25, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Clarke, Midge.  Drifting In and Out of Hampshire.  Grandfather Bannister born in Isle of Wight, and ran a large Grocery store at Southsea.  Mrs. Clarke's paternal grandmother born in Petworth Sussex.  Article shows family also being born in the Channel Islands.  No dates given, although lady says she has proof back to 1545. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 17, part no. 3 Nov. 1990, page 197-198, FHL Ref. 942.27 B2h

Gale, Joan.  The Boy Forester.  Photo taken about 1903 of a wedding, held at St Paul's Church, Southsea,  of Matthews Family with a family history of each member.  Also facsimile of William Thomas Kelsey, Certificate of Ancient Order of Foresters. Other sunrnames mentioned, Kelsey, Pellett, Golding, Anderson, Trigg, Every, McCaffrie/McEffie.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 23 part 2, pages 126-127, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 6 June 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Hampshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch