Southern Pueblos Indian Agency (New Mexico)
Guide to Southern Pueblos Indian Agency (New Mexico) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
The Southern Pueblos Agency is a currently operating agency. Its supervising office in the Bureau of Indian Affairs is the Albuquerque Area Office.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency
The Southern Pueblos Agency was established in 1919, along with the Northern Pueblos Agency. These two agencies assumed responsibilities formerly held by the Pueblos Agency. The Southern Pueblos Agency had jurisdiction over the Laguna Sanatorium, the Navajo communities of Canoncito and Puertocito, and the pueblos and day schools in the proximity of Albuquerque, where the agency had its headquarters. The Laguna Sanatorium became independent in 1924. The Southern Pueblos Agency was abolished in 1935 and its responsibilities were transferred to the new United Pueblos Agency.
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Some of the historical textual records of the Southern Pueblos Agency, which may include records of earlier agencies having jurisdiction over the same tribes, are now housed at the Rocky Mountain Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Denver. Among those records, of particular value for genealogical and historical research, are:
- Allotment records, 1909-1928
- List of patients at health facilities, 1814-1934
- Birth and death certificates, 1918-1920
- a list of students, 1924
Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1920 thru 1935. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 532-542. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm numbers 581907-581915 and 583000-583001). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.
Records Available through the Family History Library
Vital Records from Indian Census Rolls (from above collection)
- Birth and Death records 1924 -1931 FHL film 581914 Birth and Death records 1926-1932 FHL film 581915 Supplemental birth and death rolls FHL 583000 and 583001
- Correspondence, Allotment, Census, Vital, School,;1911-1935 FHL Film: 1266685-1266687 and 1249703-1249708
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, p. 184.
- Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M585, p. 51.
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
- Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
- Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online