Southern Apache Indian Agency (New Mexico)
Guide to Southern Apache Indian Agency (New Mexico) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
The Southern Apache Agency was established in 1852. Its location was changed over the years, but, until 1873, most of the locations were near Ojo Caliente, in New Mexico Territory. From 1873 to 1877, the agency was moved to Ojo Caliente, the location of the reservation. In 1877, the Indians it served were moved to the San Carlos Reservation in Arizona. The Southern Apache Agency was part of the New Mexico Superintendency until it was abolished in 1874, after which the agent reported directly to the Office of Indian Affairs in Washington DC.
Agents and Appointment Dates[edit | edit source]
Charles Overman 1842, Edward H. Wingfield 1852, James M. Smith 1853, Edmund A. Graves 1854, Michael Steck 1854, Amos A. Chipman 1861, Ferdinand Maxwell 1862, Louis Baca 1867, John Ayres 1868, Lt. Charles E. Drew 1869, Orlando F. Piper 1870, Benjamin M. Thomas 1872, John M. Shaw 1874 and James Davis 
Records[edit | edit source]
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
A few of the textual records of the Southern Apache Agency have been transferred to the National Archives in Washington DC. The records consist mostly of financial and other administrative records.
References[edit | edit source]
- The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. By Edward E. Hill. Clearwater Publishing Co., New York, NY ©1974. FHL Book 970.1 H551o
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clear-water Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
- Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microscopy T1105.
- Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online