Southampton Holy Rood, Hampshire Genealogy
(Redirected from Southampton Holy Rood, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Southampton Holy Rood, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Southampton Holy Rood, Hampshire | |
|---|---|
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Southampton Borough |
| County | Hampshire |
| Poor Law Union | Southampton |
| Registration District | Southampton |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1848 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1855 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Southampton |
| Diocese | Winchester |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester |
| Location of Archive | |
| Hampshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SOUTHAMPTON, a seaport, borough, market-town, and county of itself, locally in the S. division of Hampshire, 75 miles (S. W. by W.) from London. Southampton comprises the parishes of All Saints, Holy Rood, St. John and St. Lawrence united, St. Mary, and St. Michael. In the town is also a chapel dedicated to the Holy Trinity. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, the Society of Friends, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.[1].
![[tree]](/wiki/en/File:Mosaic_FamilySearch_Tree_Image.jpg){kind=small} |
This section requires expansion with: a summary overview of the history of this parish. |
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Southampton Holy Rood, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2] | |||||
| PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3] |
| SOUTHAMPTON HOLY ROOD PARISH Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FMP | 1700s-1800s | 1700s-1800s | 1500s-1800s | |||
| PRTS | 1780-1812 | 1780-1812 | 1780-1812 | |||
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Blundell, L. S. The Blundells. History and family tree of Henery and Ann Smith Blondell (with an 'o') married in 1776. Article covers years 1776-1970, and is found in Hampshire Family Historian vol.10,#4,1982, pages 200-204. Family History Library, Ref. 942.27 B2h
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
 |
This section is empty. You can help by adding to it. |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 139-149. Date accessed: 06 June 2013.
- ↑ 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.
