Southampton All Saints, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Southampton All Saints, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Southampton All Saints, Hampshire|
|County||Hampshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Southampton|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SOUTHAMPTON, a seaport, borough, market-town, and county of itself, locally in the S. division of Hampshire, 75 miles (S. W. by W.) from London. Southampton comprises the parishes of All Saints, Holy Rood, St. John and St. Lawrence united, St. Mary, and St. Michael. In the town is also a chapel dedicated to the Holy Trinity. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, the Society of Friends, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|Southampton All Saints Online Parish Records|
|FamilySearch Parish Registers-Hampshire|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Find My Past-Hampshire ($)|
|Find My Past (Portsmouth)-Hampshire ($)|
|Ancestry-Church of England Hampshire ($)|
|Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)|
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Hampshire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Hampshire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Blundell, L. S. The Blundells. History and family tree of Henery and Ann Smith Blondell (with an 'o') married in 1776. Article covers years 1776-1970, and is found in Hampshire Family Historian vol.10,#4,1982, pages 200-204. Family History Library, Ref. 942.27 B2h
The Farley Family circa 1916. A picture of Mr. Walter Farley and his wife Catherine nee Bingham, and the 3 sons and one daughter Daisy, and a small history of the children entering the Army in W.W.1. and one of the descendants is a Farnham. The picture is on the cover of The Hampshire Family Historian, and the details of the picture on page135, vol. XI, no. 3, November 1984, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Templeton, John. The 19th Century Oke Family of Southampton. A short family history of the family starting in 1682-1870, originally from Sherborne, Dorset, who moved to Southampton. Article is in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XII, no.1, May 1985, pages 15-16. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v12
Etheridge, J.D.R. Grandmother's Room. An article about the Ransom family of Nursling and Southampton, including a history, photo of Louisa Jane Gay nee Barnett, and photo of William James Jerome Gay and a family tree of the Ransoms, covering years 1760-1892. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XII,no.3,November 1985, page211-213, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v12
Williams, G.H. The Tinling Family. The First Lord and Lady Chelmsford. Anna Maria Tinling, the youngest daughter of William Tinling and Frances, was baptised at All Saints, Southampton, January 1799. Article continues with a description of the family history descendants from 1794-1832. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XV,no.3 November 1988, pages 197-199, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 139-149. Date accessed: 06 June 2013.