South Wingfield, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to South Wingfield, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|South Wingfield, Derbyshire|
All Saints South Wingfield Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Belper|
|Parish registers: 1585|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1661|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WINGFIELD, SOUTH (All Saints), an ancient parish, in the union of Belper, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 2¼ miles (W.) from Alfreton. Other places in the parish include: Oakerthorpe..
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
South Wingfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|South Wingfield All Saints (1585) Parish Online Records|
South Wingfield St Mark
Derbyshire Record Office reference D639 has deposited registers Bap 1585-1979 Mar 1585-1974 Burial 1585-1974 Banns 1754-1812, 1824-1906 There is also a transcript of burials 1971-1974 at the Record Office.
Wingfield Park a private burial ground within the parish
Derbyshire Record Office reference D639 has deposited registers Burial 1879-1929
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1661-1874 Mar 1661-1837 Burials 1661-1874 Missing Bap/Bur 1841-1842
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
South Wingfield on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Wilson, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 613-618. Date accessed: 26 June 2013.