South Shields St Stephen, Durham Genealogy
Guide to South Shields St Stephen, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|South Shields St Stephen, Durham|
|Poor Law Union||South Shields|
|Registration District||South Shields|
|Parish registers: 1846|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Chester le Street|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
South Shields St Stephen was created a parish in 1846-8 from South Shields St Hilda. Parts of this parish became part of theseparishes: South Shields St. Aidan (1885). There are three places of worship belonging to the Wesleyans; two each to the Baptists, Presbyterians, and Methodists of the New Connexion; and one each to the Independents, Primitive Methodists, and members of the United Secession Church.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The Parish Registers for the period 1846-1961 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/SS.SS).
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Date: October 1846-1848 Related material at DULASC:
All South Shields St Stephen transcripts are included with South Shields St Hilda transcripts DDR/EA/PBT/2/227 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. FamilySearch will need to re-engineer the parish transcript images in future
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The Parish Registers for the period 1846-1985 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/SS.SS).
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
South Shields St Stephen on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.