South Shields St Hilda, Durham Genealogy
Guide to South Shields St Hilda, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|South Shields St Hilda, Durham|
|Poor Law Union||South Shields|
|Registration District||South Shields|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1763|
|Rural Deanery||Chester le Street|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SHIELDS, SOUTH, a sea-port, a chapel of ease, a borough, and township, and the head of a union, in the parish of Jarrow (which also see), E division of Chester ward, N division of Durham, 20 miles NNE from Durham, and 278 NNW from London. The ancient chapel of St. Hilda was rebuilt in 1810. Another dedicated to the Holy Trinity was erected; and an additional church has been erected, dedicated to St. Stephen. There are three places of worship belonging to the Wesleyans; two each to the Baptists, Presbyterians, and Methodists of the New Connexion; and one each to the Independents, Primitive Methodists, and members of the United Secession Church. 
South Shields St Hilda was an ancient chapelry created from the ancient parish of Jarrow (St Paul) by the year 1653. St Hilda's became a parish in 1845 and parts of the parish formed other parishes: South Shields Holy Trinity (1848); South Shields St. Stephen (1848); Harton St. Peter (1864); Westoe St. Thomas (1864); South Shields St. Aidan (1885); South Westoe St. Michael and All Angels (1878).
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
South Shields St Hilda parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|South Shields St Hilda Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Church of Scotland/Scottish Presbyterian
- Roman Catholic
- Society of Friends (Quaker)
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- United Presbyterian Church of Scotland
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
South Shields St Hilda on Genuki
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-80. Adapted. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.