South Korea Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from South Korea)
Jump to: navigation, search
South Korea Wiki Topics
Flag of South Korea.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
South Korea Background
Local Research Resources
Asia
South Korea

Guide to South Korea, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

South Korea is a country in Asia bordered by North Korea. The official language is Korean.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with South Korea Research

Links to articles on getting started with South Korea research.

South Korea Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in South Korea research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

South Korea Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in South Korea. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Gangwon
Seoul
Incheon
Gyeonggi
South Chungcheong
North Chungcheong
Sejong
Daejeon
North Gyeongsang
North Jeolla
Daegu
Ulsan
Busan
South Gyeongsang
Gwangju
South Jeolla
Jeju
Yellow Sea
(West Sea)
Korea Strait
(Western Channel)
Korea Strait
(Tsushima Strait)
Sea of Japan
(East Sea)

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in South Korea.

Code Name Hangul Hanja
KR-11 Seoul special city 서울특별시
KR-26 Busan metropolitan city 부산광역시 釜山廣域市


KR-27 Daegu metropolitan city 대구광역시 大邱廣域市


KR-28 Incheon metropolitan city 인천광역시 仁川廣域市


KR-29 Gwangju metropolitan city 광주광역시 光州廣域市


KR-30 Daejeon metropolitan city 대전광역시 大田廣域市


KR-31 Ulsan metropolitan city 울산광역시 蔚山廣域市


KR-50 Sejong metropolitan autonomous city 세종특별자치시 世宗特別自治市


KR-41 Gyeonggi Province 경기도 京畿道


KR-42 Gangwon Province 강원도 江原道


KR-43 North Chungcheong Province 충청북도 忠淸北道


KR-44 South Chungcheong Province 충청남도 忠淸南道


KR-45 North Jeolla Province 전라북도 全羅北道


KR-46 South Jeolla Province 전라남도 全羅南道


KR-47 North Gyeongsang Province 경상북도 慶尙北道


KR-48 South Gyeongsang Province 경상남도 慶尙南道


KR-49 Jeju Province special self-governing province 제주특별자치도 濟州特別自治道


FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "South Korea," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/South_Korea, accessed 21 April 2015.