South Hylton, Durham Genealogy
Guide to South Hylton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|South Hylton, Durham|
|Hundred||Easington; Sunderland Town|
|Poor Law Union||Sunderland|
|Registration District||Easington; Houghton le Spring; Sunderland|
|Parish registers: 1821|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1821|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HYLTON, a township, in the parish of Monk-Wearmouth, union of Sunderland, E division of Chester ward, N division of the county of Durham, 3 miles WNW from Sunderland.
Hylton, South, an ecclesiastical district in Bishop Wearmouth parish, Durham.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
South Hylton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|South Hylton Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Union[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
South Hylton or Ford (see Bishopwearmouth) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
- John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, (1887). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.