South Hinksey, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to South Hinksey, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|South Hinksey, Berkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Abingdon|
|Parish registers: 1670|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post 1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
HINKSEY, SOUTH (St. John), a parish, in the union of Abingdon, hundred of Hormer, county of Berks, 1½ mile (S.) from Oxford. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
South Hinksey, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|South Hinksey, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Genuki.org.uk provides a detailed background of these records. The Family History Library has some of these registers on microfilm. To see what is available in the FamilySearch Catalog catalog click here.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
South Hinksey in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 514-518. Date accessed: 05 May 2014.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 31 January 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.