To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

South Elmham All Saints, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
South Elmham All Saints
South Elmham All Saints, Suffolk
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wangford
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Wangford
Registration District Wangford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1708
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Elmham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ELMHAM, SOUTH (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wangford, E. division of Suffolk, 5 miles (N. W.) from Halesworth. This parish rectory, was annexed with that of St Nicholas Parish.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for important historical events and for source material.

Resources[edit | edit source]

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

South Elmham was in Wangford district. To search an index of Wangford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article provides more details about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Church records[edit | edit source]

South Elmham All Saints, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
South Elmham All Saints, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1580-1753

FMP 1813-1903
FREG
1707-1900
1708-1900
IGI 1539-1662
NBI

1709-1900

Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 161-164. Adapted. Date accessed: 27 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911', Find My Past, accessed 5 January 2016. Described ambiguously as 'South Elmham.'
  4. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.