South Dakota Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
South Dakota Wiki Topics
South Dakota flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
South Dakota Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]

Population Schedules[edit | edit source]

Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.

South Dakota was admitted as the 40th state on 2 Nov 1889. So in the 1860-1880 censuses, it will be listed under Iowa Territory.

United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
1860 1870 1880
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1890 1900 1910
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1920 1930 1940
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com

Non-Population Schedules for South Dakota[edit | edit source]

Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.

Year Type of Census Links
1890 Veterans at Ancestry
1885 Veterans at South Dakota Archives
1885 Mortality at Ancestry
1880 Mortality at Ancestry
1860 Mortality at Ancestry

Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]

Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]

State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.

Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.

Year Type of Census Links
1945 State, everyname list of the state's inhabitants on index cards at FamilySearch

at Ancestry at My Heritage

1935 State, everyname list of the state's inhabitants on index cards at FamilySearch

at Ancestry at My Heritage

1925 State, everyname list of the state's inhabitants on index cards at FamilySearch

at Ancestry at Find My Past at My Heritage

1915 State, everyname list of the state's inhabitants on index cards at FamilySearch

at Ancestry at Find My Past at My Heritage

1905 State, everyname list of the state's inhabitants on index cards at FamilySearch

at Ancestry at Find My Past at My Heritage

1895 State (select counties), all household members at Ancestry
1885 Territorial, (select counties), all household members at Ancestry

Other Census Images[edit | edit source]

Indian Census Rolls
Supplemental census, births and deaths,1946-1948 Indian census rolls, Crow Creek, 1886-1942
Census of Yankton Reservation, 1931 Tribal census, 1886-1942
Indian census rolls,  1910,1911,1921,1924 Indian census rolls, Yankton, 1885-1931
Register of Lower Yantonai Sioux families, ca.1901 Indian census rolls, Santee, 1885-1917
Tribal census of the Lower Yantonai Sioux, 1895-1940 Tribal census, 1877
Indian census rolls, Flandreau, 1892-1939 Census records, 1876-1939
Lists of males over 18 years of age, 1889 Census records, 1874-1932
Indian census rolls, Cheyenne River, 1886-1942

Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]

State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:

  • Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
  • Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
  • Sex
  • Age
  • Color
  • Nativity
  • Place of birth of this person
  • Place of birth of Father of this person
  • Place of birth of Mother of this person
  • Period of Residence
  • How long a resident of this State (years and months)
  • How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
  • Regular occupation
  • Military service

Sources and footnotes[edit | edit source]