South Croxton, Leicestershire Genealogy
|South Croxton, Leicestershire|
St John the Baptist South Croxton Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Barrow upon Soar|
|Registration District||Barrow upon Soar|
|Parish registers: 1662|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Rothley|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
CROXTON, SOUTH (St. John The Baptist), a parish, in the union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of East Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester 9¼ miles (N. E. by E.) 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
South Croxton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|South Croxton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: South Croxton Bap 1662 - 1903 Marr 1662 - 1837 (Banns to1892) Bur 1662 - 1812
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.