| South Caroliniana Library
South Caroliniana Library in Columbia
- 910 Sumter St.
- University of South Carolina
- Columbia, S.C. 29208
Telephone:</ref> 803-777-3131 Fax: 803-777-5747
Hours:</ref> 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday; 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Saturday
Directions, maps, and public transportation:</ref>
- Directions: The intersection of Sumter and College Streets on the historic Horseshoe.
- Maps: University map, and Google map.
- Public transportation: CMRTA bus routes 3, 8, 20, and 21 stop one or two blocks from the Library.
Internet sites and databases:
- South Caroliniana Library search, contacts, manuscripts, oral history, published materials, University archives, visual materials, collections and finding aids, online publications, news, events, and exhibits.
- USC South Caroliniana Library Catalog by keyword, title, author, subject, call number, or ISBN/ISSN.
- Manuscripts Division Holdings - Genealogy Library collections, aids, and Internet links.
- Leonardo Andrea Genealogical Collection finding aid 1,025 genealogical research folders on SC families in three alphabetical lists.
- Louise Kelly Crowder Genealogical Collection, ca. 1953-1985 finding aid genealogical research notes for about 350 SC families chiefly from Chester, York, Lancaster, and Union counties.
- Bessie Lee Garvin Genealogical Collection finding aid genealogical research notes for about 90 SC families, and Orangeburg District land papers 1786-1848.
This library has 75,000 books or microfilms, 1.3 million manuscripts including unpublished genealogical files documenting connections amoung South Carolina families and beyond. Important large genealogical collections: Leonardo Andrea, Bessie Lee Garvin, and Louise K. Crowder. Also includes maps, letters, diaries, plantation account books, local history, churches, clubs, business records, oral histories, biography, city directories, and newspapers.
Please bring a photo I.D.</ref>
If you cannot visit or find a source at the South Caroliniana Library, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History federal and state census records, county probate records, county land records, family histories, cemeteries, tax records, newspapers, county equity court records, and state death certificates. Also colonial British records.
- South Carolina Historical Society, Charleston, SC, diaries and papers, plantation, business, and church records, maps, plats, genealogies, 30,000 photos, 50,000 books, pamphlets, and serials.
- National Archives Southeast Region (Atlanta) (i.e. Morrow), federal censuses, Ancestry.com, military, pensions, bounty-land, photos, passengers arrival indexes, naturalizations, Native Americans, African Americans, workshops.
- Richland County Public Library Accessible Archives, Ancestry.com, HeritageQuest, SC Death Indexes 1915-1958 and many other websites
- Lexington County Public Library System Lexington County Obituary Index, and HeritageQuest Online.
- Historic Columbia Foundation 6,500 artifacts including images.
- South Carolina State Museum Prehistoric, Revolutionary and Colonial, Antebellum, Civil War, Post Civil War, African American History.
- Lexington County Clerk of the Court criminal, common pleas, and family court.
- Lexington County Register of Deeds
- Richland County Clerk of the Court criminal, common pleas, and family court.
- Richland County Register of Deeds includes marriage licenses since 1911 (index online).
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Fairfield County, Kershaw County, Sumter County, Calhoun County, Lexington County, Newberry County.
- South Carolina Genealogical Society has a modest collection of family histories, genealogies, state and county record abstracts, county histories, local histories, and church histories.
- Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina Archives, Dalco Historical Soc., Charleston, colonial parish records.
- Repositories in other surrounding states: North Carolina, Georgia, Tennessee.
- State Library of N. Car., Raleigh, family history, Bibles, marriage, death, newspaper, deeds, photos.
- North Carolina State Archives, Raleigh, census, military, courts, bond, deed, estate, vital records, wills.
- Georgia Archives, Morrow, genealogies, county histories, newspapers, tax digests, private papers, church records, cemeteries, Bible records, a few municipal records, census, maps, land plats, photographs, Georgia Confederate service and pension records, colonial, headright, and bounty land grants, land lottery, and Georgia county records.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Nashville, vital records, censuses, county records, tax lists, local histories, school censuses, military records, Native Americans, newspapers, obituary lists, and maps.
- Dallas Public Central Library Texas, 111,700 volumes, 64,500 microfilms, 89,000 microfiche, and over 700 maps, marriage, probate, deed, and tax abstracts in book form, or microfilm of originals for some states, and online databases.