South Africa Genealogy
Guide to South Africa ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|South Africa Wiki Topics|
|South Africa Background|
|Local Research Resources|
The FamilySearch moderator for the South Africa is Daniel Jones.
Country Information[edit | edit source]
South Africa is a country in Africa bordered by Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Eswatini, and Lesotho. Portions of South Africa were formerly ruled by Portugal, The Netherlands, and Great Britain. There are 11 official languages.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with South Africa Research
Links to articles on getting started with South Africa research.
South Africa Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in South Africa research.
South Africa Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in South Africa.
Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in South Africa. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
South Africa is divided into nine provinces.
From 1910 to 1994, South Africa had four provinces: the Transvaal and Orange Free State, Natal and the Cape.
More South Africa Research Tools[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Help Center Lessons
- Beginning South Africa Research
- South Africa National Archives
- South Africa FamilySearch Collections Online
- British Concentration Camps
- Anglo-Boer War 1899-1902 Records
- Vital Records--Obtaining Death Certificates, Marriage Certificates, Birth Certificates
- Colonial Office Transcripts
- South African Passenger Lists
- 1820 Settlers
- South African Settlers
- South African Genealogy
- South Africa Family History Information on the Internet
- First Fifty Years - a project collating Cape of Good Hope records
- The Genealogical Society of South Africa links
- Cyndis List
- Government Where can I get assistance to trace my family tree?
- South African Family History
- South Africa Genealogy Resources & Vital Records
- South African Genealogy Useful Links
- Family Bible Index (includes South African Bibles)
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "South Africa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/South_Africa, accessed 21 April 2016.