To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Somerset, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Somerset Genealogy)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Somerset Wiki Topics
Flag of Somerset.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Somerset Background
Local Research Resources
England-somersetshire.png


Guide to Somerset ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Information[edit | edit source]

“SOMERSET, or Somersetshire, a maritime county; bounded on the NW, by the Bristol channel; on the N, by Gloucestershire; on the E, by Wiltshire(Wilts); on the SE, by Dorset; on the S, by Dorset and Devon; on the W, by Devon.

Somerset is a rural county with rolling hills such as Blackdowns,Mendips and Quantocks [1]. It is also has a national park (Exmoor National park). Somersets greatest length is 71 miles; its greatest breadth is 40 miles... and its area is 1,047,220 acres. From the list of counties of England, Somerset is ranked 22nd for population and 7th for total area.

There have been many People who have settled in Somerset, these include Romans and Anglo-Saxons[2]. The county remained part of the Roman empire until around AD 409. The Roman baths gave there name to the city of Bath. [3]

Parishes[edit | edit source]

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Somerset parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Somerset.

Civil Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

List of Somerset Civil Registration Districts

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]