Somerset County, Maine Genealogy
Guide to Somerset County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Somerset County, Maine|
Location in the state of Maine
|Founded||March 1, 1809|
|Address|| Somerset County Courthouse|
Skowhegan, ME 04976
Somerset County Website
- 1 Description
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Church
- 5.3 Court
- 5.4 Emigration and Immigration
- 5.5 Gazetteers
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Naturalization
- 5.11 Newspapers
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for Somerset County, England. The County has Skowhegan as its seat and the County was created 1809. The County is located in the north central area of the state.
- Clerk Courts have some marriage records from 1800’s and proabte records from 1809.
Parts of Somerset County were set off to:
- 1838 - Franklin County 20 March 1838.
- 1838 - Piscataquis County 23 March 1838.
- 1844 - Part of Aroostook County 12 March 1844.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Plantations. For further details see Maine Plantations.
- Brighton Plantation
- Highland Plantation
- Pleasant Ridge Plantation
- The Forks Plantation
- West Forks
- Bigelow Plantation
- Carrying Place Plantation
- Dead River Plantation
- Flagstaff Plantation
- Long Pond Plantation
Villages: • Flagstaff • North Anson
Unorganized territories. Townships listed from southeast to northwest within their group. BKP=Bingham's Kennebec Purchase; EKR=East of the Kennebec River NBKP=North of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase; Twp=Township; WELS=West of the Easterly Line of the State; WKR=West of the Kennebec River. For further details see Maine Townships.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Maine Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1620-2014 - Maine, Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1620-2014 at FamilySearch — index
- 1676-1918 - Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1780-1999 - Maine, J. Gary Nichols Cemetery Collection, ca. 1780-1999 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
- 1837 - 1965 - Maine & Massachusetts Case Files of Deceased and Deserted Seamen 1837-1965 at FamilySearch - images
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Somerset County, Maine Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.
- 1676 - 1918 - Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1718 - 1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1835 - 1838 - Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications 1835-1838 at FamilySearch — index and images
Regiments. Service men in Somerset County, Maine Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Somerset County, Maine Genealogy:
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - Maine, World War I Draft Registration Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1718-1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1918-1991 - Maine, United States Naturalization Records, 1918-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images
Maine Newspaper Archive Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.
Finding More Maine Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Somerset County, Maine Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Online Probate Records
Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.
- 1589-1966 - Maine, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1670 - 1921 - Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- The Somerset County MEGenWeb Project, an member of The MEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Somerset County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Somerset County (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Somerset County
- Wikipedia contributors, "Somerset County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Somerset_County,_Maine."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 305. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Before an extinct town was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
- Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 115. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
- Maine Historical Records Survey Project, Division of Professional and Service Projects, Work Projects Administration, Counties, Cities, Towns, and Plantations of Maine: a Handbook of Incorporations, Dissolutions, and Boundary Changes (Portland, Maine: The Survey, 1940), pages for Bigelow, Brighton, Carrying Place, Dead River, Flagstaff, Lexington, Long Pond, and Mayfield. A digital version is available via a link in the FamilySearch Catalog.