Somerset Church Records
|Somerset Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
The subscription site Ancestry has the largest collection of Somerset parish registers available online. They have also digitized images of the original records.
At Ancestry (£)--
- Somerset, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1531-1812 (3,342,867 entries)
- Somerset, England, Church of England Baptisms, 1813-1914 (2,257,704 entries)
- Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914 (1,206,406 entries)
- Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914 (445,809 entries)
- wsom-opc.org.uk/ -- The main website for the Somerset Online Parish Clerk project
- freereg.rootsweb.com/ -- A free service offering transcripts of parish registers in Somerset
At findmypast (£)--
- Somerset Marriages. 146,765 entries. Coverage.
- Somerset Marriages (post-1754). 184,710 entries. Coverage.
- Somersetshire Parishes: A Handbook of Historical Reference to All Places in the County by Arthur L. Humphreys provides an overview of what records survive for each parish.
There is a great index to many of the Church of England parishes in south and west Somerset called Dr. Campbell's Index. This index was created by Dr. Neville Campbell. It is available at the Somerset Record Office. It has also been microfilmed and is available at the Family History Library or can be ordered at any Family History Center. For a list of the film numbers, click here. For a listing of the parishes and the dates of coverage for this index click here.
- 1581-1753 - Various Somerset Marriage Licenses online at Ancestry (£).
- 1754-1779, 1801-1899 - Somerset, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations 1754-1779, 1801-1899 online at Ancestry (£).
Non-Conformist Church Records
- 1777 - 1936 - England, Bristol, Non-Conformist Church Records, 1777-1936 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
- 'Coverage of the Joiner Marriage Index', The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 1 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.