Somersal Herbert, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Somersal Herbert, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Somersal Herbert, Derbyshire|
Somersal Herbert St Peter Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Uttoxeter|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1664|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SOMERSALL-HERBERT (St. Peter), an ancient parish, in the union of Uttoxeter, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 4 miles (E. by N.) from Uttoxeter. Other places in the parish include: Church Somershall.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Somersal Herbert parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Somersal Herbert St Peter (1538) Parish Online Records|
Derbyshire Record Office reference D1252 has deposited registers Bap 1538-1993 Mar 1538-1993 Burials 1538-1991
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1664-1867 Mar 1664-1856 Burials 1664-1866 Missing 1840-1842,1847-1850, 1854 for all events
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Somersal Herbert on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 133-139. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.