Solomon Islands Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Solomon Islands Wiki Topics
Flag of the Solomon Islands.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Solomon Islands Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Oceania
Solomon Islands
Guide to Solomon Islands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

The Solomon Islands is an island country in the Pacific Ocean whose nearest neighbors are Papua New Guinea and Australia. The official language is English.[1]


History

The first European to visit the islands was the Spanish navigator Álvaro de Mendaña de Neira, coming from Peru in 1568.
Missionaries began visiting the Solomons in the mid-19th century. The United Kingdom declared a protectorate over the southern Solomons in June 1893 and in 1898 and 1899, more outlying islands were added to the protectorate. Missionaries settled in the Solomons under the protectorate, converting most of the population to Christianity.
With the outbreak of the Second World War most planters and traders were evacuated to Australia and most cultivation ceased. Some of the most intense fighting of the war occurred in the Solomons. Local councils were established in the 1950s as the islands stabilised from the aftermath of the Second World War. A new constitution was established in 1970 and elections were held, although the constitution was contested and a new one was created in 1974. Following the independence of neighbouring Papua New Guinea from Australia in 1975, the Solomon Islands gained self-government in 1976. Independence was granted on 7 July 1978.
[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Solomon Islands Research

Links to articles on getting started with Solomon Islands research.

Solomon Islands Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Solomon Islands research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Solomon Islands Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Solomon Islands. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Solomon Islands map.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Solomon Islands. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Solomon Islands have nine provinces and one capital territory*

  • Central
  • Choiseul
  • Guadalcanal
  • Honiara*
  • Isabel
  • Makira
  • Malaita
  • Rennell and Bellona
  • Temotu
  • Western

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Solomon Islands," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solomon_Islands, accessed 22 April 2016.