Solano County, California Genealogy
|Solano County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 18, 1850|
|Address|| Solano County Courthouse|
701 Texas Street
Fairfield, CA 94533
Solano County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 Historical Facts
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 Parent County
- 5 Places/Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Bible Records
- 6.2 Biography
- 6.3 Cemeteries
- 6.4 Census
- 6.5 Church History and Records
- 6.6 Court Records
- 6.7 Crime and Criminals
- 6.8 Directories
- 6.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 6.10 Gazetteers
- 6.11 Genealogy
- 6.12 History
- 6.13 Land and Property
- 6.14 Maps
- 6.15 Migration
- 6.16 Military History and Records
- 6.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 6.18 Newspapers
- 6.19 Obituaries
- 6.20 Periodicals
- 6.21 Probate Records
- 6.22 Repositories
- 6.23 Societies
- 6.24 Taxation
- 6.25 Vital Records
- 7 Voting Registers
- 8 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 9 Websites
- 10 References
Solano County, California Record Dates
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and land records
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1850.
18 February 1850: Solano County was created as an original county. County seat: Fairfield 
The county was named from an Indian Chief, Chief Solano of the Suisunes, a Native American tribe of the region and Vallejo's close ally. The county seat Fairfield and the county was created 1850. The County is located in the west central area of the state. 
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Index to Solano County Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Solano County Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Index to Solano County Biographies (CAGenWeb Project)
The following web sites may have additional information on Solano County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
For tips on accessing Solano County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Solano County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
- Solano History Database is an online, interactive database containing historical articles, photos, books, and other content relating to the history of Solano County, CA. The Vacaville Heritage Council updates this site on a regular basis.
- Excerpt from Sacramento Valley Expositions Commission, 1915 (Genealogy Trails)
- Solano County Historical Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Military History and Records
Regiments. Service men in Solano County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Solano County, California Genealogy:
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company C
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company E
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company F
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company G
- - [3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company H
- - 5th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
- - 8th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
- 1883 - Solano County – List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1884, 1886 - Civil War Veterans Rosters, G.A.R. Posts, Solano County, California (USGenWeb Archives)
World War II
- Index to Solano County Army Inductees, World War II (USGenWeb Archives)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Solano County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Solano County Library, Vacaville, CA
- Solano County and Vallejo, CA Obituaries (Newspapers.net)
- Index to Solano County Obituaries (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Solano County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Solano - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Introduction to Family History Centers
- Fairfield California Family History Center
- Vacaville California Family History Center
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - Birth Index, Solano County Genealogy Trails)
- Early Birth Notice Index by year (Genealogy Trails)
- 1800 - 2007 - California, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1850 - 1848 - Solano County Marriages, 1850-1858 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Early Solano County Marriage Notices by year (Genealogy Trails)
- 1850 - Mortality Schedule, Benicia Township (Genealogy Trails)
- 1850 - 1885 - Solano County Early Deaths (Genealogy Trails)
- 1905 - 1939 - California Death Index, 1905-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1940 - 1997 - California Death Index, 1940-1997 at FamilySearch — index
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
Genealogical Society of Vallejo-Benicia
734 Marin Street
Vallejo, CA 94590
Solano County Historical Society
P.O. Box 922
Solano County Genealogical Society
P O Box 2494
Fairfield, CA 94533
Phone: (707) 446-6869
Solano Historical Society
PO Box 3009
Fairfield, CA 94533-0309
- Solano County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Solano County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Solano County, California Genealogy Trails
- Solano County CA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Solano County, California. Page 84-88 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 81-83.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Solano County, California. Page 87At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Solano County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/solano/ 05/08/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Solano County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solano_County,_California 05/08/2017.