To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sola (Sole) Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sola, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Sola (Sole) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Haaland
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Haaland
Fogderi Jæderen og Dalene
Sorenskriveri Jæderen
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Sola ruin church.jpg
Sola Church.jpg

Church records for Håland clerical district begin in 1671. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Sola (Sole), Tananger, Tjora and Madla (Malle) in Håland clerical district. Håland clerical district became Sola clerical district in 1967. These parishes were part of Stavanger (the Latin school) before 1741, and the parishes Håland, Sola and Tjora became Sola parish in 1840. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1701: The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.Mantallet (Census) 1701 for Stavanger Amt (Rogaland County) at Digitalarkivet.
  • 1801 The 1801 census (b. 38) for Håland clerical district includes Håland, Sola, and Madla parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. 1801-telling (census) at Digitalarkivet.
  • 1865 This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. 1865-telling (census) at Digitalarkivet.
  • 1875 This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
  • 1900 This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. 1900-telling (census) at Digitalarkivet.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.

Court records at the Family History Library, 1613-1701

These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, , Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.

Land Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1724-1913: These mortgage records give information about real estate, conveyances, mortgages, and other transactions of properties. Contracts, agreements, and deeds are also recorded in these books. The panteregisters are extracts of these records. Digitised Real Estate Registers at Digitalarkivet.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For 1666-1822 the probates are found in Jæren og Dalane judicial district.
For 1823-1882 they are found in Jæren judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Jæren deanery. `

Availability[edit | edit source]

Jæren og Dalane judicial district
*1666-1822 Family History Library
*1667-1860 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Jæren judicial district
*1763-1821 Family History Library
*1859-1896 Digitalarkivet.

Jæren deanery
*1763-1821 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1763-1821 Digitalarkivet.

Sola police station
*1969-1972 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

"Gard og ætt i Sola," [Stavanger]: Utgjevar Sola kommune, 1974. 948.31/S8 D2r FHL INTL Book 948.31/S8 D2r Suppl. FHL INTL Book

Index to: Gard og ætt i Sola av Sigurd Refheim publ: Utgjevar Sola kommune, 1974. 948.31/S8 D2r index FHL INTL Book

Farm Book on the Internet[edit | edit source]

Tanangers Minne og Sola Historielag: Kilder fra Sola

This site does more than list the people and their families on a farm. It gives the sources and materials for the record. The farms are listed alphabetically in the left-hand column. When you click on the farm a large graph appears. Across the top are the centuries, 1500-1900. Down the left side of the graph are the sources pertaining to the farm. They include tax records, birth and death records, census records, emigrants, and a list of graves in the cemetery, as well as other sources from the 1500`s to the 1900`s.

At the bottom of the list is a link, "Gard og Ætt," which goes to the page where the inhabitants are listed by families.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

18 Auglend, 24 Auglend, 21 Austbø

21 Bakkevolden, 36 Beltenes, 21 Braadet, 25 Byberg

27 Dysjeland

32 Foren, 15 Fuglevigen

29 Gimre, 37 Grannes, 21 Grydebakken

21 Haaland, 6 Haga, 25 Hagene, 10 Hammeren, 26 Harveland, 24 Helland, 21 Helleberget, 23 Hellestø, 9 Hogstad, 20 Huset

1 Jaasund

14 Kirke-Sole, 18 Klingshei, 11 Kolnes nordre,

19 Litleland, 21 Lønning

5 Meling, 30 Midholen, 3 Myglebostad, 2 Mæland lille, 4 Mæland store, 14 Mælhaug

37 Nov

8 Rise lille, 34 Rjoa, 12 Rott, 17 Ræge, 35 Røineberg

33 Sande, 36 Saurnes, 32 Skadberg, 14 Skjelsnes, 1 Sodehaugvolden, 21 Soldalen, 30 Stangeland vestre, 29 Sveen, 15 Sømme,

3 Tananger, 25 Timpelen, 28 Tjelte, 10 Tjore, 20 Trælen

16 Ud-Sole, 18 Ulsberget, 6 Uren,

21 Veden, 21 Vestbø, 22 Vigdel

20 Ølbør

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names