Sockburn, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sockburn, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes S-Y
North Riding
Sockburn

Guide to Sockburn, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sockburn, Yorkshire
All Saints, Girsby Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allertonshire; Stockton
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Darlington
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office
For more information and records see Sockburn, Durham

Parish History

Sockburn All Saints was an Ancient Parish partly in Yorkshire and partly in Durham. It was in the diocese of Durham. The River Tees divided the parish and the old church was on the Durham side of the river. The majority of the parish lived across the river in Yorkshire and without a bridge, had to ferry across the river or ford the river at times of the year. The age of the church and situation led to a new church being built at Girsby in North Yorkshire.

The original ruined church of All Saints which is said to have been Saxon in origin lie in the grounds of Sockburn Hall. The Hall was rebuilt in the 1830's and is a listed building. The saxon religious significance of Sockburn can be documented by the consecration of Higbald of Lindisfarne too in AD 780, followed by Eanbald as Archbishop of York in AD 790. 'Socceburg' was also given to the community of St Cuthbert's in AD 990 and may have been a minster of one of the large estates from the 7th to 10th centuries.

SOCKBURN (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Darlington, partly in the S. W. division of Stockton ward, county of Durham, but chiefly in the wapentake of Allertonshire, N. riding of York, 7 miles (S. E.) from Darlington.[1]

See also Sockburn, Durham. The modern parish is in the village of Girsby Yorkshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Sockburn parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Sockburn Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2005
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Darlington Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-133. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk