Sockburn, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sockburn, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Durham
Durham Parishes
Sockburn

Guide to Sockburn, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sockburn, Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allertonshire; Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Darlington
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

_TOC__Part of this parish is in Yorkshire. See also Sockburn, Yorkshire.

Parish History

SOCKBURN (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Darlington, partly in the S. W. division of Stockton ward, county of Durham, but chiefly in the wapentake of Allertonshire, N. riding of York, 7 miles (S. E.) from Darlington. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/233 Date: 1762-1839  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1580-1982 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Soc). The International Genealogical Index includes Christenings 1580-1641, 1658-1767;
Marriages 1580-1812.

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Darlington Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sockburn on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-133. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.

The Sockburn Worm

Local legend and tradition has it that Sockburn was once the home to a terrible monster called the Sockburn Worm. It terrorised the neighbourhood until was killed by Sir John Conyers, a member of a local noble family. From that day on each new Prince-Bishop of Durham was presented with the sword that killed the worm upon entering their new Bishopric for the first time at Croft on Tees. The recently revived ceremony includes the following presentation speech, traditionally made by the Lord of Sockburn;
"My Lord Bishop. I hereby present you with the falchion wherewith the champion Conyers slew the worm, dragon or fiery flying serpent which destroyed man, woman and child; in memory of which the king then reigning gave him the manor of Sockburn, to hold by this tenure, that upon the first entrance of every bishop into the county the falchion should be presented."

The falchion used in this ceremony is kept in the Durham Cathedral Treasury and a more detailed history of the item is in the external link below.

External sites

For details of the sword known as the Conyers falchion http://bjorn.foxtail.nu/h_conyers_eng.htm

For further Worm legends of Durham

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lambton_Worm

http://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/history/memories/durhammemories/4035677.Here_be_dragons_/