To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Snodland, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Snodland, Kent)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Snodland, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Snodland, Kent
Snodland All Saints Kent.jpg
Snodland All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Larkfield
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Snodland is a small town on the River Medway in the Tonbridge and Malling district of Kent, see Snodland Wikipedia

Snodland All Saints with Christ Church is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester which included Holborough and Rookery. There are two churches within the Ancient Parish which form the benefice; see church website

Lower Birling Christ Church dates from 1896 and was built to accommodate the growing population in the area; see Kent Churches website

The church of All Saints Mill Street Snodland has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 463-470. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.

at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Snodland North West Kent Family History Society which includes other places of worship in the town of Snodland and Snodland All Saints

The disused church of Our Lady of the Meadow, Wrangling Lane, Snodland has been designated as a grade II* listed building British lsited building

Congregational Church: Providence, Holborough Rd dates from1822 and moved later to the High St (1888). Original registers begin in 1836.

Swedenborgian (New Jerusalem) Church in High Street Snodland dates from 1880/1881. The Church of New Jerusalem, has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Snodland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Snodland Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Snodland available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Snodland and Paddlesworth, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

SNODLAND (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Larkfield, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 2½ miles (N. E. by N.) from West Mailing. [2]



Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 126-129. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.