Snailwell, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cambridgeshire
Cambridgeshire Parishes
Snailwell

Guide to Snailwell, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Snailwell, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staploe
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Newmarket
Registration District Newmarket
Records begin
Parish registers: 1629
Bishop's Transcripts: 1570
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

SNAILWELL (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Staploe, county of Cambridge, 2¾ miles (N.) from Newmarket. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Snailwell, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Snailwell, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1849 1849
1849

Snailwell, Cambridgeshire at FHL:baptisms, 1629-1746, 1752-1901; marriages, 1629-1901; banns, 1754-1814; burials, 1629-1903

Bishop's transcripts for Snailwell, 1849 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Snailwell on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 126-129.Date accessed and adapted: 10 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.