Smisby, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Smisby, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Repton and Gresley|
|Poor Law Union||Ashby de la Zouch|
|Registration District||Ashby de la Zouch|
|Parish registers: 1720|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1679|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
SMISBY, a parish, in the union of Ashby-de-laZouch, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 2½ miles (N. N. W.) from Ashby, with Bondary, extra-parochial. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Smisby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Smisby St James (1720) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1720-1885
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1679-1883 Mar 1679-1836 Burials 1679-1883 Missing Bap/Bur 1853-1855, 1857-1862,1868-1871
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Smisby on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, ATopographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 123-125. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.