Slovakia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Slovakia Wiki Topics
Bratislava Danube.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Slovakia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Europe
Slovakia
Guide to Slovakia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

Slovakia is a sovereign state in Central Europe bordered by the Czech Republic, Austria, Poland, Ukraine, and Hungary. The area had been part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire until the end of the First World War when, in October 1918, the Czech lands of Austria (Bohemia, Moravia, and Austrian Silesia) joined with the Slovak and Ruthenian (Ukrainian) counties of Hungary to create the sovereign Republic of Czechoslovakia. Slovakia became an independent state on January 1, 1993 when Czechoslovakia peacefully split into the Czech Republic and Slovakia. The official language is Slovak.[1]

Getting Started with Slovakia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Slovakia research.

Slovakia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Slovakia research.

More Research Tools


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Slovakia

  • Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
  • If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Slovakia Finding Town of Origin to search a variety of records that might provide that information.

Slovakia Clickable Map

Žilina (Žilinský kraj)Prešov Region (Prešovský kraj)Košice (Košický kraj)Banská Bystrica (Banskobystrický kraj)Nitra (Nitrianskyj)Trnava (Trnavský)Bratislava (Bratislavský kraj)Bratislava (Bratislavský)Žilina (Žilinský kraj)Trnava (Trnavský)Trnava (Trnavský)Trnava (Trnavský)Trenčín (Trenčiansky)Trnava (Trnavský)Banská Bystrica (Banskobystrický kraj)Žilina (Žilinský kraj)Slovakia-map.gif
About this image


Jurisdictions

Regions

  • There were 20 counties (county = stolica/župa) of the Kingdom of Hungary situated completely or partly in present-day Slovakia. After the creation of Czechoslovakia, they continued to exist till 1922.
  • Since 2002, Slovakia is divided into 8 autonomous regions (region = kraj):
  • These links and the clickable map above lead to detailed instructions and links for genealogy research in each region:

Districts

Several districts form a "Region" (Slovak "kraj"). One district, on the other hand, consists of several "municipalities" (Slovak "obec") Districts have been units of state administration in Slovakia since the time of the Habsburg monarchy, except for the period from 2004 to late 2013. Today, each district is administered by a "district office" (okresný úrad). In the FamilySearch Catalog, records are listed by district and then municipality, not by region.

1920px-Okresy97 Slovakia.svg.png

FamilySearch Resources

Janosikove diery.JPG

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

More Research Tools

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Slovakia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slovakia, accessed 23 March 2016.