Slovakia Finding Town of Origin

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Slovakia Wiki Topics
Bratislava Danube.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Slovakia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Slovakia
Finding Town of Origin

Finding the Town of Origin

Records in Slovakia were kept on a local level. In order to research your family in Slovakia, it is essential that you have identified the place where they came from. You must know the city, town, or parish that they came from. Many records are indexed, but some records will require going directly to photocopied local records, which are only available by town name. Therefore, you will need to search in United States (or other country of arrival) sources first.

Your Town Name in Hungarian, Ukrainian, Czech, and Slovakian

  • Until 1918, Slovakia belonged to Hungary, with a small part in Carpathian Ruthenia. Carpathian Ruthenia was part of the Ukraine during this time.
  • After World War I, Slovakia and the regions of Bohemia, Moravia, Czech Silesia and Carpathian Ruthenia formed Czechoslovakia (1918-1939.)
  • A separate (First) Slovak Republic (1939–1945) existed during World War II, under Nazi Germany.
  • At the end of World War II, Czechoslovakia was re-established as an independent country.
  • Slovakia became an independent state on 1 January 1993 after the peaceful dissolution of Czechoslovakia. Source: Wikipedia: Slovakia
Dark thin font green pin Version 4.png

Your immigrant ancestors may report in United States records that they were from Austria, Hungary, Russia, Ukraine, Ruthenia, Slovakia, or Czechoslovakia. Also, their town had a Hungarian name and a Slovakian name. So you might see both names appearing in records.

Important Tips

Before you can begin to search in the records of Slovakia you must find that one record that gives the name of his or her hometown. You must also know enough about the ancestor to positively identify him in the records. Dates (even if they are approximate), places, and familial connections are key to helping you decide if a person you find, who has the same name as your ancestor, really is your ancestor.

  • Do you know the name of his or her parents?
  • Do you know their birth, marriage, or death date or can you calculate an approximate range of years to search for their birth, marriage, or death?
  • Do you know the name of his or her spouse? Did they marry before or after coming to the United States?
  • Do you know the names of any of their siblings? How about aunts and uncles?
  • Do you know the names of any children born in Slovakia?

Documents in the Home

Often the document you need to pinpoint the place of origin of your ancestor from Slovakia is already found at home. These might include the following:

  • Birth certificates
  • Marriage certificates or licenses
  • Death certificates
  • Obituaries
  • Funeral cards
  • Journals
  • Photographs
  • Letters
  • Family Bible
  • Naturalization papers
  • Citizenship papers
  • Military service records

Emigration Questions to Ask Relatives

Find the oldest living relatives that you can and ask them:

  1. What do you know about our first ancestor to come from Slovakia? (open-ended)
  2. Have you ever heard mention of towns in Slovakia where the family lived?
  3. Do you have contact with any relatives in Slovakia?
  4. . Do you have contact with other branches of the family in the U.S.?
  5. . When _____________ came from Slovakia, did they travel with other family members?
  6. . Do you know when _________________ arrived and which port city?
  7. Did _______________ever become a citizen?
  8. Did_________________fight in World War I or II?
  9. When they first came, were there already family members here who they joined?
  10. Did_______________ever mention their parents in Slovakia?
  11. Were they Catholic?
  12. Do you have any old letters or postcards from your Slovakia family?
  13. Do you have any pictures of family members in Slovakia?

Search Genealogies Compiled by Others

Records to Search in the Country of Arrival

Census Records

  • Search census records, available for the United States, Canada, England, and other countries. Censuses are often taken every ten years.
  • Try to locate your ancestor in every census during which he or she was alive. This information provides a good framework for further research.
  • The 1850-1880 U.S. federal censuses sometimes lists Slovakian region as birth place.
  • The censuses for 1900 to 1930 ask for the year of immigration and whether or not the person was naturalized. This information can help you find naturalization records or a passenger list.
  • Censuses can be accessed online. Links to both free and subscription websites are found at United States Census Online Genealogy Records.
  • State census records vary in availability and the type of information they contain, but they are always useful as another source to document an ancestor in a specific locality. See U.S. Online Genealogy Records by State for links to online state censuses.


Example: This 1900 census shows the birthdates and birthplaces of the family members and their parents. It tells the years the parents immigrated and how many years they have lived in the U.S. "Pa" indicates that they have filed papers to become citizens. Notice that they report being from Hungary "Magyar"--an example of Slovakia appearing in records with one of its other names.

Slovakia 1900 Census.png

Vital Records

Vital records, or civil birth, marriage, and death records document important events in an ancestor’s life. Many states have posted statewide indexes on the Internet. Understand that any birth, marriage, or death certificate gives information about other people besides the primary person it is about

  • 1. It is important to remember that a birth certificate for a child might tell it's parents' birthplaces.
  • 2. Marriage certificates might name birth dates and places of the bride and groom. They might also give the names and birth places of the parents of the bride and groom.
  • 3. Death certificates are very important. Birth and marriage certificates might not have kept by a state during the earlier years of your ancestor's life. There is a greater chance that your ancestor died after detailed record-keeping began. Death certificates frequently state birth date and place. They also state the names of parents and their birth places.

There are wiki articles giving details on how to find vital records of each state.

  • You can select the state of interest and the record (birth, marriage, or death) from this list:

How-To Articles.

Example: This Pennsylvania birth certificate gives the birthplaces in Slovakia of the child's parents.

Birth cert slovakia example.png

Example: This Montana marriage certificate shows the Slovakia birthplace of the groom and his parents' names.


Marriage example slovakia.png < br>

Example: This Illinois death certificate, an indexed entry in Ancestry.com, gives the birthdate and Slovakia birth place of the deceased, the parents' names and birthplaces in Slovakia.

Death cert example Slovakia.png

Cemetery Records

Websites such as FindAGrave and Billion Graves are making it easier to get information from headstones, which frequently give birth dates, and occasionally give birth places. Each state has additional collections of cemetery records. See U.S. Online Genealogy Records by State for links to other online cemetery records. Every state also has a Cemetery topic page you can search, for example, California Cemeteries, Washington Cemeteries. etc.

Example: This FindAGrave entry gives the birthdate and birthplace in Slovakia for the deceased, and the names, birthdates, and Slovakia birthplaces of his parents and siblings.

FindaGrave slovakia.png

Obituaries

Obituaries are an excellent source of biographical information about immigrants. In addition to names and death dates, you can learn about surviving family members, church affiliations, spouses, parents, occupations, burial places, and hometowns in the old country. Even if a place of origin is not given, an obituary may provide additional research clues, such as the date or ship of immigration or traveling companions. Much of this information cannot be found in other sources. For many immigrants, an obituary is the only “biographical sketch” ever written about them. See U.S. Online Genealogy Records by State for links to online obituary collections. If the town of death is known, Google newspapers in that town and contact them to see if they kept archives of their obituaries.


Example: This obituary gives the birthdate, birthplace in Slovakia, and parents' names of the subject.

Obituary slovakia.png

Social Security


Example: This indexed entry of a Social Security application gives the subject's birthdate, birthplace in Slovakia, and parents' names.

SS app slovakia example.png

Military Records

Draft records for World War I and II ask for birth place.


Example: This World War I Draft Registration gives the birthdate and the birthplace in Slovakia.

WW I slovakia birthplace.png

Example: This World War II Draft Registration gives the birthdate and the birthplace in Slovakia.

WwII slovakia birthplace.png

Passenger Arrival Lists

Passenger lists, especially in the 20th century, may list birth place, last residence in mother country, and name and residence of a close relative in the mother country. Study the records of fellow passengers, as frequently relatives and neighbors traveled together. United States Immigration Online Genealogy Records is a comprehensive list of passenger arrival databases that you can search right now from your computer. There are many, many databases. The following search strategy will make your search more efficient.

Suggested Search Strategy

  1. Check the partner website indexes, as these cover many, many databases at once. The FamilySearch Historical Records databases is free to search with a free registered account. The other websites are subscription-based but can be searched for free at a Family History Center near you. Try to search each partner site because their search engines can often bring up slightly different results.
  2. If it is difficult for you to get access to the subscription databases, next try Additional Nationwide Collections Not Included in Partner Sites. These websites have a lot of overlap with the subscription websites.
  3. Search a nationality, religious, or political group collection that applies to your ancestor.
  4. Search the state collection for the first state where your ancestor lived.
  5. Read Tracing Immigrant Origins to learn about many other records that substitute for immigration records.


Example: This passenger list gives several clues that can lead to records in Slovakia: the last permanent residence, the birthplace, and names and address of close relatives in both Slovakia and the United States.

Passenger lists Slovakia birthplace.png

Naturalization Records

  • Naturalization records may also list an ancestor’s birth place.
  • Prior to 1906 any U.S. court could naturalize foreigners. Many pre-1900 records only list the country of citizenship; however, there are notable exceptions, so these records should be checked routinely.
  • The process involved two sets of papers: a declaration of intention to become a U.S. citizen, and a petition filed some time later.
  • Beginning in 1906, naturalization records became more detailed, as the responsibility shifted to the Federal government.
  • More information about naturalization records, along with helpful links, is found at Beginning Research in United States Naturalization Records and United States Naturalization Online Genealogy Records.


Example: This Petition for Naturalization gives the applicant's birthdate and birthplace in Slovakia.

Citizenship slovakia.png

Passport Applications


Example: This passport application gives the birthdate and birthplace of the applicant in Slovakia.

Passport slovakia.png

Alien Registration


Example: This online index entry for an A-File gives minimal identifying information. You then send for the full file which can contain birth records, marriage records, and other legal documents.