To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Skodje Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Skodje, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Skodje Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1675: Romsdal, 1675-1680: Nordfjord og Sunnmøre, 1680-1689: Bergenhus, 1689-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Skodje
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Skodje
Fogderi Søndmør
Sorenskriveri Nordre Søndmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Skodje clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Skodje and Vatne. They were separated from Borgund clerical district in 1858. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1698-1931

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Skodje: 1855-1864

Skodje / Skodje: 1864-1931

Skodje / Vatne: 1864-1917

Borgund: 1788, 1803, 1826-1879, 1916-1924

Borgund / Borgund: 1698-1825, 1828-1839, 1855-1947

Borgund / Skodje: 1698-1817, 1838-1856

Borgund / Skodje, Vatne: 1816-1854

Borgund / Vatne: 1699-1817

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666, 1801, 1845, 1855 see Borgund clerical district.
  • 1875: Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875.  The 1875 census for Skodje (Skoue) clerical district includes the parishes of Skodje and Vatne and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Giske, Louis, Bygdebok for Skodje : gard og slekt, [Skodje] : Skodje sogelage, 1986. A genealogy and a history of the people and their farms in Skodje, Møre og Romsdal county, Norway. Contents: b. 1. G.nr. 2 - 31 b. 2. G.nr. 32 - 69.

Farm name indexes to volumes 1 and 2 are found in the following links. File:948.35-S8 D2g v1 - Skodje1.pdf, File:948.35-S8 D2g v2 - Skodje 2.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

16 Apalvik

65 Beite indre 25 Berget indre 57 Brune 45 Brusdal

33 Digernes 46 Duaas 40 Dyrøen

62 Eikrol indre 63 Eikrol ytre 61 Engset lille 60 Engset store 67 Erstad

29 Flote 18 Fremrelien 54 Fyling lille 56 Fyling store

27 Gjerdet 48 Gjerdet 52 Gjerdet 67 Gjerdet 10 Glomset nedre 64 Grasdal 27 Grindvik 3 Gudmundset

14 Haaem 2 Heggebakke 1 Hesseberg 45 Hjellen 8 Honningdal 7 Honningdalsnes 41 Høivik

12 Indrevik 35 Indvik

55 Langnes 47 Langøen 51 Leitet

46 Mauren 19 Midtlien 39 Mørkeset

37 Natvik 53 Nes 6 Nesvik 4 Nonsvik

49 Oksskar

5 Rabben 43 Reiekvam 42 Rumpen

32 Saltkjelvik 69 Skar 21 Skodje indre 24 Skodje nedre 23 Skodje ytre 22 Skodjereite 17 Skodjevaag 44 Slettebak 15 Solnør 47 Steinset 52 Stette 68 Stige 59 Storsæteren 28 Strømmen 31 Strømsholm 50 Støraak 48 Støvset 31 Svorte 30 Svortehaugen

38 Tyssebru

36 Utvik

13 Valle 34 Vemøen

26 Ytrebakke 20 Ytrelien 11 Ytrevik

58 Øie

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1689-1801: Probates are found in Sunnmøre judicial district.

1791-1852: Probates are found in Nordre Sunnmøre judicial district.

1707-1807: Clerical probates are found in Sunnmøre Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names